The Alison Frantz Photographic Collection contains images by the photographer and archaeologist Alison Frantz (1903 - 1995). The photographs mainly depict Archaic and Classical sculpture, Greek archaeological sites and various finds. The collection was created between the late 1940’s and the early 1970’s. The images have illustrated numerous publications, among them: Korai, Greek Archaic Maidens (Gisela M. A. Richter, 1968); The Archaic Gravestones of Attica (Gisela M. A. Richter, 1961); Olympia, The Sculptures of the Temple of Zeus (Bernard Ashmole and Nicholas Yalouris, 1967) and The Parthenon Frieze (Martin Robertson and Alison Frantz, 1975).
ARTstor is a nonprofit organization committed to digital collection solutions for universities, museums, schools, and libraries worldwide. The ever-increasing digital library includes more than 1.9 million high-quality images for education and research from a wide variety of contributors around the world. ARTstor has also developed a complete set of tools to catalog, manage, and distribute digital media collections.
Machine generated contents note: Preface J. J. Pollitt; 1. Aegean painting in the Bronze Age Anne Chapin; 2. The lost art: early Greek wall and panel-painting, 760-480 BC Jeffrey Hurwit; 3. Etruscan and Greek tomb painting in Italy, c.700-400 BC Stephan Steingräber; 4. Reflections of monumental painting in Greek vase painting in the fifth and fourth centuries BC Mark Stansbury-O'Donnell; 5. Hellenistic painting in the eastern Mediterranean: mid-fourth to mid-first century BC Stella G. Miller; 6. Etruscan and Italic tomb painting: c.400-200 BC Agnès Rouveret; 7. Painting in Greek and Graeco-Roman art criticism J. J. Pollitt; 8. Roman painting in the Republic and early Empire Irene Bragantini; 9. Roman painting of the middle and late Empire Roger Ling.
Census is an interdisciplinary research project centering on the classical tradition. The Census database aims to register antique monuments known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents in the form of texts and images.
Sarcophagi of the Roman Empire by the DAI (German Archaeological Institute). In cooperation with the DAI, the CoDArchLab (Arachne) has re-conceptualized the original Corpus of Ancient Sarcophagi from 1870.
The Corpus Signorum Imperii Romani (CSIR) is an international academic enterprise begun over 50 years ago, aiming to document the immense sculptural heritage of the Roman Empire. These webpages are hosted by the Classical Art Research Centre, University of Oxford, on behalf of the International Association for Classical Archaeology (AIAC).
The Rome Research Group is a collection of projects involved in exploring various features of the city of Rome and the world it influenced. Working broadly in the world of the Digital Humanities, current projects are mapping the street shrines (edicole sacre) of Rome, built beginning in the Medieval period, and the temples of the ancient Roman world.
The Digital Cicognara Library is an international initiative to recreate in digital form the private book collection of Count Leopoldo Cicognara (1767–1834). Cicognara’s collection of some five thousand early imprints still comprises the foundational literature of art and archaeology.
The Thomas J. Watson Library, the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s central research library, has over 900,000 volumes. The Digitization Initiative provides wider access to the Libraries’ rare and unique materials.
The Getty Research Portal is a search platform providing access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
The J. Paul Getty Museum has published the catalogs "Ancient Carved Ambers in the J. Paul Getty Museum", "Ancient Terracottas from South Italy and Sicily in the J. Paul Getty Museum" and "Roman Mosaics in the J. Paul Getty Museum".
The ‘Last Statues of Antiquity’ project (University of Oxford, R.R.R. Smith & Bryan Ward-Perkins) investigates all evidence for new statuary 280–650, as well as the slow decline (and eventual end) of ancient statue-making. The aim of the project is to document and examine the remarkable changes in the way statues were used in Late Antiquity, in the context of contemporary historical and cultural developments.
Multi-volume encyclopedia that traces Mythology in Art. with a text volume accompanied by another volume with images, arranged alphabetically. The entries are variously in English, German, French, or Italian. Indispensable for the study of Greek and Roman religion.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art creates, organizes, and disseminates a broad range of digital images and data that document the rich history of the Museum, its collection, exhibitions, events, people, and activities.
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists’ Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
These YouTube videos feature walking, scooter, and drone tours of many sites such as the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, the Palatine Hill and many more with street sounds and written descriptions if you so choose.