The Mesopotamian literary corpus is one of the oldest literatures in the world. It is infused with the divine, because religion played a crucial part in the way Mesopotamians expressed their thoughts about human life. Mesopotamian religion was polytheistic, with a pantheon consisting of hundreds if not thousands of gods of varying importance. This website offers information about the fifty most important gods and goddesses and provides starting points for further research.
Between 3500 and 300 B.C. cylinder seals were one of the most important communication tools in the Near East. Embedded in administrative activities, they served as means of identification. Within the project "Near East Seals as Tools of Visual Communication through Space and Time", almost all of the cylinder seals of the Vorderasiatisches Museum Berlin have been digitized with a structured-light 3D scanner, which has been developed by the Fraunhofer-Institute. The results are now available in an online archive.
In response to the tragic displacement of people, loss of life in conflict zones, and ongoing threats to the cultural heritage of the Middle East through destruction, looting, and illicit trafficking, the Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) has begun to federate Middle Eastern collections from around the world, creating a publicly accessible, inter-operable digital library of cultural material.
The Endangered Archaeology in the Middle East and North Africa (Eamana) project, supported by the Arcadia Fund and based at the Universities of Oxford and Leicester, will use satellite imagery to record and make available information about archaeological sites and landscapes which are under threat across the Middle East and North Africa. The archaeological heritage of the Middle East and North Africa, which is of international significance for all periods, is under increasing threat from massive and sustained population explosion, agricultural development, urban expansion, warfare, and looting.
The aim of the Ebla Digital Archives [EbDA] database is to provide a digital edition of the entire corpus of cuneiform texts belonging to the Ebla Royal Archives. Texts are reproduced in the same sequence as in the individual volumes of the series Archivi Reali di Ebla – Testi published by the “Italian Archaeological Mission to Siria” of the Sapienza University of Rome. Compared with the hard copy publication, the digital edition provides harmonized transliterations, corrections and numerous collations made over the years by the team of epigraphers who cooperate with the Mission.
The open-access electronic Corpus of Urartian Texts (eCUT) Project, a sub-project of the Munich Open-access Cuneiform Corpus Initiative (MOCCI) is the first electronic corpus of the written sources from the kingdom of Urartu, which in the first half of the 1st millennium stretched from its eastern Anatolian capital Ṭušpa (today's Van) over the Armenian highlands and was one of the most fierce adversaries of the Neo-Assyrian Empire.
More than 3,000 cuneiform clay tablets document the intellectual, religious, scientific, legal and economic activities in Hellenistic Mesopotamia. Originating primarily from Uruk and Babylon, these texts show that although Alexander the Great and his successors transformed much of the cultural landscape of western and central Asia, they left many native practices and institutions intact. Hellenistic Babylonia: Texts, Images and Names presents to Assyriologists, Classicists, ancient historians and others the evidence necessary for study of Mesopotamia at the time when traditional culture came under the powers of the Hellenistic world. Three primary areas of this website include up-to-date and readable publication of the materials necessary for an integrated study of Hellenistic Mesopotamia.
The Inscriptions of Libya hub will be a collaboration between King’s College London (Centre for Hellenic Studies and Department of Digital Humanities), the Universities of Bologna and Macerata, and the University of Paris IV–Sorbonne (Centre de recherche sur la Libye Antique), to produce a publication portal and joint search facility for several publications of inscribed Greek and Latin texts from ancient Libya.
Prosobab is an open access database of the recorded inhabitants of Babylonia between c. 620 and 330 BCE. Its main focus is on individuals who lived in southern Mesopotamia under Persian rule (539-330 BCE), but it also includes the preceding period of the Neo-Babylonian Empire in an attempt to contextualize their lives and those of their family members. In addition to person data, Prosobab collects information on the texts and archives in which the individuals are recorded.
"The Semantic Dictionary of Biblical Hebrew project is carried out under the auspices of the United Bible Societies. It was launched in the year 2000. Its aim is to build a new dictionary of biblical Hebrew that is based on semantic domains, comparable to Louw and Nida’s Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament, which was first published in 1989. Several Hebrew scholars from different parts of the world are contributing to this dictionary. The editor for this project is Dr. Reinier de Blois, assisted by Prof. Dr. Enio R. Mueller."