United States Code (U.S.C.)
United States Code in print
The United States Code is the official codification of the general and permanent laws of the United States. The Code was first published in 1926, and a new edition of the code has been published every six years since 1934. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.The official code, titles 18 & 28 Appendix volumes contain unannotated rules.
United States Code (Govinfo - Government Printing Office)
Govinfo.gov contains virtual main editions of the U.S. Code. The information contained in the U.S. Code on Govinfo has been provided to GPO by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. While every effort has been made to ensure that the U.S. Code on Govinfo is accurate, those using it for legal research should verify their results against the printed version of the U.S. Code available through the Government Printing Office.
United States Code (LII - Cornell)
LII (Legal Information Institute) is a small, non-profit, research, engineering, and editorial group housed at the Cornell Law School in Ithaca, NY. Its publishing efforts go into to producing and maintaining free legal information.
United States Code Annotated (USCA) on Westlaw
Law students & faculty only. United States Code Annotated has all 54 titles and includes the Constitution, court rules and appendixes. Annotated materials include notes of decisions, cross references, research references, and more.
United States Code Service (USCS) on Lexis
Law students & faculty only. Published by LexisNexis, the USCS provides an annotated version of the United States Code based on the Statutes at Large . Annotations provide access to historical notes, cross-references to other statutes/regulations, and references to relevant secondary sources. The USCS also includes general and title specific indexes.
Publication of state codes will vary. The Law Library's state codes are located on the 4th floor with the other state materials at call numbers KFA through KFZ. Note that most of the print codes are no longer being updated.
Ohio
Ohio does not publish an official version of the Ohio Revised Code, instead unofficial versions of the code are published.
Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated by
This set offers complete coverage of Ohio statutory law, supplemented by several editorial enhancements including extensive annotations to court and state agency decisions that construe or affect Ohio law. Annotations are drawn from reported Ohio court decisions, selected unreported Court of Appeals decisions, Ohio attorney general opinions, Ethics Commission decisions, federal cases, and decisions of state agencies. Also includes US and Ohio constitutions and court rules.
Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated on Westlaw by
Law students & faculty only. Ohio Statutes and Court Rules contains the Ohio statutes, Constitution, and court rules. A document is an annotated section of the statutes, section of an article of the Constitution, or a court rule. Related print publications include Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated and West's Ohio Rules of Court Pamphlet.
Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated by
Page's Code is an authoritative and comprehensive resource for the Ohio Revised Code, Ohio court rules, and Ohio Constitution. It includes all the annotations, explanatory notes, and other research aids that are expected in a quality state code set. In addition to the General Index, each volume contains an index to the contents of that volume. For ease of use, court rules which are associated with a particular Code Title are included in that volume. For example, the Criminal Rules are in Title 29, and the Juvenile Rules are in Title 21.
Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated on Lexis by
Law students & faculty only. Page's Code is an authoritative and comprehensive resource for the Ohio Revised Code, Ohio court rules, and Ohio Constitution. It includes all the annotations, explanatory notes, and other research aids that are expected in a quality state code set. For ease of use, court rules which are associated with a particular Code Title are included in that volume. For example, the Criminal Rules are in Title 29, and the Juvenile Rules are in Title 21.
Ohio Revised Code on Bloomberg Law by
The Ohio Statutes directory contains laws enacted by the Ohio Legislature and the Ohio Constitution. Unannotated.
Session laws usually have official and unofficial publications.
United States Statutes at Large in print
The United States Statutes at Large is the official publication of Federal session laws. It is abbreviated Stat. in legal citation.
United States Statutes at Large on Bloomberg Law
Law students and faculty only.
United States Code Congressional & Administrative News on Westlaw
Combination of the Congressional Session Highlights, Executive, legislative, and congressional committee membership, U.S. Public laws, House and Senate reports from LH, Presidential proclamations, Executive orders, Presidential messages and signing statements, Legislative history table listing Public law number, Stat page, Bill no., House and Senate report nos., and Dates of passage. Includes documents from U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News. Coverage varies by document type.
USCS -- Public Laws on Lexis
Law students & faculty only
With most states, you will also find their session laws published in the legislative service pamphlets published by West or the Advance Service published by Lexis. Many states will also publish their session laws on the state website.
Westlaw - Proposed & Enacted Legislation
Law students & faculty only.
Public Laws / Advance Legislative Service
Browse Sources > Statutes and Legislation > Public Laws/ALS (law students & faculty only)
HeinOnline Session Laws Library
This library contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed publication, and all states are available back to inception!
If you need to research a particular issue as treated by multiple state statutes there are several useful tools that may save you a lot of work. Just be aware that these may only address selected narrow topics and that they may not be current. Be sure to locate the date of the survey or latest revisions.
LexisNexis 50 State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations
LexisNexis 50 State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations provide instant comparison of states' treatment of topical issues, linked to governing provisions on Lexis and prefaced by an examination of federal context and state themes.
National Survey of State Laws (in print) by
Provides an overall view of some of the most-asked about and controversial legal topics in the United States: abortion, the right to die, gun control, prayer in public schools, marijuana, marriage, personal income tax, drunk driving, capital punishment, right to work, lemon law, leases and other agreements, child custody, legal ages, and many other areas. Each section begins with a general overview followed by a table that briefly summarizes each state’s statutes on particular aspects of the law. References to the statute or code section covering that law are also presented, enabling users who are interested in reading the original text to easily find it. The appendix, Statutory Compilations Used in This Book, provides the abbreviations and full names of each state code.
National Survey of State Laws (on HeinOnline)
Provides an overall view of some of the most-asked about and controversial legal topics in the United States: abortion, the right to die, gun control, prayer in public schools, marijuana, marriage, personal income tax, drunk driving, capital punishment, right to work, lemon law, leases and other agreements, child custody, legal ages, and many other areas. Each section begins with a general overview followed by a table that briefly summarizes each state’s statutes on particular aspects of the law. References to the statute or code section covering that law are also presented, enabling users who are interested in reading the original text to easily find it. The appendix, Statutory Compilations Used in This Book, provides the abbreviations and full names of each state code.
Subject Compilations of State Laws (on HeinOnline)
Subject Compilation of State Laws provides citations to law review articles, books, and other sources in which state statutes are compared. It is not cumulative so you may need to check multiple "volumes."
Westlaw 50-State Surveys
50 State Surveys provides access to state and federal statutes, covering topics of law such as garnishment, attachment and judgment execution requirements, durable powers of attorney, cancellation and nonrenewal of insurance policies and premiums,etc.
Also check association websites that advocate or deal with specific statutory issues. Just be aware of potential association bias and the need to verify and update.There are also subject-specific book compilations.
ADR in Employment Law by 
Computer and Intellectual Property Crime: Federal and State Law by Covenants Not to Compete: A State-by-State Survey by Cybersecurity Litigation: Consumer Data Protection and Privacy by Disability discrimination and the workplace by 
Disability Discrimination in the Workplace by Employee Duty of Loyalty: A State-by-State Survey by Employment at Will: A State-by-State Survey by The Family and Medical Leave Act by Gender Identity and Sexual Orientation Discrimination in the Workplace by Intellectual Property, Software, and Information by Labor Union Law and Regulation by Privacy in Employment Law by Trade Secrets: A State-by-State Survey by The Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights ACT by Wage and Hour Laws: A State-by-State Survey by Whistleblowing: The Law of Retaliatory Discharge by 
