Skip to Main Content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Curriculum Materials and Resources in the CECH Library

Your CECH Library guide to curriculum materials and resources in support of PK-12 students and educators.

CECH Library PK-12 Textbooks

Current PK-12 textbooks are available representing major curriculum areas and publishers. The CECH Library retains textbooks for 10-15 years in the regular collection. They are located on the 3rd floor. Textbook examples from the 1990s and 2000s are located behind the circulation desk and available by request.

To search for PK-12 textbooks in our online catalog:

  • Visit the UC Library Catalog or enter your search in the box below
  • Combine your subject (i.e. social studies) with "cech textbooks" in the search box -- it is important to include quotation marks

Anatomy of a CECH Textbook Call Number

The following two tables show examples of textbook call numbers (bold text in center column) with an explanation of each part of its call number:

Format: TEXT Textbook
Dewey subject: 574 Biology
Publisher abbreviation:   GMH Glencoe/McGraw-Hill
Publication date: 2002  
Grade(s): Gr 9-12 Grades 9 - 12
Edition type: TE Teacher's edition

 

Edition Types

The CECH Library textbook collection includes a range of types of textbooks: laboratory manuals, student edition textbooks, teacher's editions of textbooks, workbooks, and teacher's editions of workbooks. 

The table below lists edition type codes, the final line of each textbook call number:

LM  laboratory manual
LMTE    laboratory manual, teacher's edition
TB textbook, student edition
TE textbook, teacher's edition
WK workbook
WKTE   workbook, teacher's edition

Historical Textbooks at UC Libraries

The University of Cincinnati's Archives and Rare Books Library maintains a historical textbook collection of more than 2,000 textbooks from the early 19th century to the turn of the 21st century, covering a wide variety of subjects taught in elementary, middle, and secondary schools.

The basis of this collection was formed from materials previously housed in UC’s Curriculum Resources Center with additional holdings acquired by the Archives & Rare Books Library.

To learn more about historical textbooks or to find the titles of early textbooks, explore the following websites:

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati