Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
The Ad*Access Project¸ funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund¸ presents images and database information for over 7¸000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio¸ Television¸ Transportation¸ Beauty and Hygiene¸ and World War II¸ providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
AdForum containts over 110¸000 ads from over 100 countries produced in the last 10 years with an emphasis on notable and award winning creative work. AdForum has ads from all media types (TV¸ print¸ billboard¸ radio¸ case studies interactive) and all ads are viewable in a high resolution video player that includes zoom-in functionality and full screen viewing on print ads. A large number of these ads also include full production credits. An advanced search tool allows users to find the ads they need quite easily.
Coverage: 2000 - present
Art as Image: Prints and Promotion in Cincinnati¸ Ohio is both a print monograph and a web site published by Ohio University Press in association with the University of Cincinnati Digital Press. The monograph (ISBN: 082141335X) can be ordered online from Amazon.com or Ohio University Press. Cincinnati was a major printing and publishing center from the earliest days of the Old Northwest Territory. The spectacular technological and artistic developments in the 19th-century printing trade nationally were reflected in the Cincinnati printmakers' achievements. Highlights of Cincinnati prints¸ printing¸ and graphic design are the focus of the monograph and web site.
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995¸ high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984¸ including 280 peer-reviewed journals¸ as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13¸000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200¸000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements¸ including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine¸ decorative and commercial art¸ folk art¸ photography¸ film¸ and architecture¸ and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Coverage: 1984 - present
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative¸ founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation¸ with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship¸ teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 2.5 million digital images and related data.
NOTE: ARTSTOR CONTENT IS MOVING TO JSTOR (MUCH CONTENT IS ALREADY MOVED). ARTSTOR WILL BE RETIRED IN AUGUST 2024.
Political communication and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China.(E-collection available through University Libraries membership in the Center for Research Libraries)Chinese pamphlets¸ picture books and other propaganda issued during the early years of the People's Republic of China between 1947 and 1954. Unlike the high-end¸ made-for-export propaganda held by many Western libraries¸ this is the "street literature" of the revolution: the comic books¸ leaflets and other ephemera distributed to the population of the provincial cities and villages.
Coverage: 1947 - 1954
This product began as the merger of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch provided citation indexing of 32 journals in communication studies¸ with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation indexing of over 60 research journals¸ as well as major journalism reviews¸ recent encyclopedias¸ and handbooks in the area of communications studies. The combined product incorporates full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.
Coverage: 1915 - present
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world
Beginning August 19, 2019, University of Cincinnati Libraries will be moving from a Patron Driven Acquisition model to a Mediated Model for all Kanopy Streaming video titles. More information about this change can be found at https://guides.libraries.uc.edu/Kanopy/FAQ
Please note that all currently licensed films will still be available for immediate viewing, and a request form will only be presented when clicking on unlicensed films.