Research Guides: Elementary and Early Childhood Education: Articles

Education Databases

The databases listed here act as powerful specialized portals for researching education issues.

Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education¸ and all educational specialties¸ such as multilingual education¸ health education¸ and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration¸ policy¸ funding¸ and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1¸500 journals¸ as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs¸ and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
ERIC indexes education-related literature¸ beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information¸ containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs¸ research reports and surveys¸ curriculum and teaching guides¸ instructional materials¸ position papers¸ and resource materials. In 1993¸ ERIC began indexing education-related books¸ including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-present). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK¸ use the connect below.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Educational Administration Abstracts
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration¸ including educational leadership¸ educational management¸ educational research¸ and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 66¸000 records¸ which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Coverage: 1966 – Present
Education Full Text
Education Abstracts indexes core international periodicals¸ monographs¸ and yearbooks in education. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues¸ including government funding¸ instructional media¸ multicultural education¸ religious education¸ student counseling¸ competency-based¸ and information technology. Education Abstracts cites articles in English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English language books related to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed.
Coverage: 1983 - present
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers¸ faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100¸000 pages of SAGE's book¸ journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects¸ understand particular methods or identify a new method¸ conduct their research¸ and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines¸ it can be used across the social sciences¸ health sciences¸ and more.
Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
A complimentrary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed journals. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Professional Development Collection
The database provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals¸ designed for professional educators.

Registry of Efficacy and Effectiveness Studies (REES)
The Registry of Efficacy and Effectiveness Studies (REES) is a database of causal inference studies in education and related fields. REES is designed to increase transparency of and access to information about both ongoing and completed efficacy and effectiveness studies. REES accommodates a range of study designs, including randomized trials, quasi-experimental designs, regression discontinuity designs, and single case designs. The database is searchable and exportable. -Description from website