Changes to ERIC - 2025
Journals are being removed from ERIC
In March 2025, journal publishers received this notice from ERIC:
The Department of Education is working with the Department of Government Efficiency to "reduce overall Federal spending" and "reallocate spending to promote efficiency" (EO 14222). As a result, the number of records added to the ERIC collection will be significantly reduced going forward. The number of actively cataloged sources will be reduced by approximately 45% starting April 24, 2025. Subject matter was not considered during the process to identify which sources would be made inactive. Please note that all records currently in ERIC will remain available.
What do we know?
- This is an evolving situation -- look for updates.
- On March 20, 2025, President Trump signed an executive order that includes closing the Department of Education. ERIC is funded by the Department of Education under Institution of Education Sciences (IES).
- Journal availability in ERIC will be reduced from approximately 1,200 to 700 by April 25, 2025.
- Journals cut from ERIC will not have content added to ERIC going forward.
- Records currently in ERIC will remain searchable but there will no longer be full-text access.
- For example, if a journal is removed from ERIC, articles in ERIC prior to April 2025 will appear in your search results but there will no longer be full-text access, nor will new article records from that journal be added.
- Other resources such as National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) and Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) will also be affected by changes to the Department of Education.
What don't we know?
- Which journals will be removed from ERIC.
- If additional journal cuts will occur in the future.
- If other source types will be removed from ERIC in the future.
Article on selecting education databases:
Fitzgerald, S. R., Weaver, K. D., & Droog, A. (2025). Selecting a specialized education database for literature reviews and evidence synthesis projects. Research Synthesis Methods, 16(1), 30–41. doi:10.1017/rsm.2024.11
Other databases to find scholarly sources about education:
