Skip to Main Content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Geology Resource Guide

Your guide to resources in Geology.

Astrobiology overview

"How did life begin and evolve?" "Is there life beyond Earth?" and "What is the future of life on Earth and beyond?"

Explore more:  Encyclopedia of Astrobiology

Web resources

Astrobiology Magazine - daily publication that reports the latest discoveries about the possibility of life elsewhere in the universe.  Supported by NASA.

European Space Agency - The European Space Agency (ESA) is Europe's gateway to space. It's mission is to shape the development of Europe's space capability and ensure that investment in space continues to deliver benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

NASA Astrobiology Institute - Established in 1998 as an innovative way to develop the field of astrobiology and provide a scientific framework for flight missions. NAI is a virtual, distributed organization of competitively-selected teams that integrate astrobiology research and training programs in concert with the national and international science communities.  The Astrobiology Program has four elements: the NASA Astrobiology Institute, Exobiology and Evolutionary Biology, Astrobiology Science and Technology for Exploring Planets, and Astrobiology Science and Technology Instrument Development.

New Scientist - Topic overview with links to relevant articles

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System - Digital Library for Physics, Astrophysics, and Instrumentation

SCIENCE.gov - Site searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

SETI Institute (Search for Extra-Terrestrial Intelligence) - T

SIMBAD astronomical database - Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.

Space Informatics Lab - SIL develops intelligent algorithms for fast and intuitive exploration of large spatial datasets. Numerous campaigns for remotely sensing the Earth and other planets from spacecraft resulted in vast and rapidly expanding quantity of data having global geographical extent. Without effective tools for automating mapping and analysis of this deluge of data, the ability of geoscience and planetary communities to get insights from the entirety of the collected data is limited. SIL aims at development of tools which would make intelligent exploration of vast spatial data accessible and intuitive.  The Space Informatics Lab (SIL) was established in March 2011 by Dr. Tomasz Stepinski at the University of Cincinnati.


Biology / Medical article resources

Physics and Astronomy article resources

Search these selected core PHYSICS indexes and databases to identify relevant journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, essays, dissertations, etc.

 

arXiv.org - Open access to 559,008 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative fiance, and statistics.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2021 University of Cincinnati