Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

German-Americana Resources

This guide will introduce you to German-Americana sources at the University of Cincinnati and around the world.

What is the German-Americana collection?

German-AmericanaThe German-Americana Collection is one of the nation's largest collections of books, pamphlets, documents, journals, newspapers and manuscripts pertaining to German-American history, literature and culture, and is located in the Blegen Library in the Archives and Rare Books Library of the University of Cincinnati.

The collection is especially of value to students, scholars and the general public interested in the history, literature and culture of the German-American element. It contains a wealth of information on the German heritage of the Ohio Valley in particular.

Where is the German Americana Collection?

The German Americana Collection is part of the collections of the Archives and Rare Books Library It is located on the 8th Floor of Blegen Library on the University of Cincinnati's campus.

How Can I View the German Americana Collection?

The Archives and Rare Books Library is open to the University community and the general public.  Staff must pull items from the collection for you to view, so to ensure that items are available, please call 513-556-1959 or email archives@ucmail.uc.edu in advance of your visit.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati