German Studies

Subject Germany (West) -- Foreign relations -- Sources

Content: Twenty-four German exile journals, newspapers, and serial publications held by the Institut für Zeitungsforschung, Dortmund
•Use in conjunction with Handbuch der deutschen Exilpresse 1933-1945 = Handbook of the German Exile Press 1933-1945 Langsam Ref Z6956.FG3M27 2 vols.
• Related work: German Exile Literature in America, 1933-1950: a History of the Free German Press and Book Trade by Robert E. Cazden (ARB Stacks and Central OD Depository Z473 .C33 1970)

Archival records of the East German MfAA on Nazi war criminals from Hauptgruppe 13, Untergruppe 138 of the Politisches Archiv of the Auswärtiges Amt of the Bundesrepublik

The origins of the Bibliotheca Palatina, the state library of the Palatinate, date back to the founding of Heidelberg University in 1386. In the wake of the University's establishment libraries grew up around the high Faculties of Theology, Law and Medicine, in addition to the less elevated Artists' Library. Other institutions, originally independent, were gradually absorbed into the Bibliotheca Palatina as time went on: the so-called Abbey Library, donated in the will of Louis III, and the private book collections of the Electors out of Heidelberg Castle. It was during the reign of the book-loving Elector Otto-Henry that these disparate inventories were first united, in the galleries of the Heiliggeistkirche (Church of the Holy Spirit). [Web Site]

Time Period: 1790-1930
Content: Books and articles on the history and status of women
Also held by the Center for Research Libraries

Germany's Federal Archive

Digitized edition of the manuscript of the Chronicle Volkmar Happes in the Thuringian University and State Library of Jena documenting the 30 Years, War

Resources on Germany held by CRL available to UC faculty and students

Digital content from all of Germany’s cultural and scientific institutions.

"Secret documents from the archives of the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs captured by the Soviet army in Berlin."
Contents v. 1. November 1937-1938.--v. 2. Dirksen papers, 1938-1939 [Catalog Description]

The collection is primarily based on titles listed in the Short-title catalogue of books printed in German speaking countries and of German books printed in other countries from 1455 to 1600 now in the British Museum (Ref Z2222.B7) [Catalog Description]

English translation of documents relating to German diplomatic relations with Great Britain selected from Die grosse Politik der europäischen Kabinette 1871-1914

"...comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery. The materials are presented in ten sections, which have been compiled by leading scholars. All of the materials can be used free of charge for teaching, research, and related purposes; the site is strictly intended for individual, non-commercial use." [Site Description]

Varies by paper 19th century forward
Content: Berlin State Library ongoing newspaper digitization project for German historical and current newspapers

1945-1990/1994
Content: Full-text digitized images of three major GDR newspapers:Neues Deutschland, Neue Zeit, and Berliner Zeitung

Illustrated political broadsheets reproduced from all known copies assembled from 90 repositories in 15 countries

Germany's foreign relations and diplomatic documents from 1871 to the start of WWI

Contains articles in German by notable scholars about persons, locations and events of the history of Jewish communities in Hamburg. [JudaicaLink http://judaicalink.org/page/encyclopediae]

Weekly situation reports about political opposition to the Weimar Constitution, especially by the German Communist Party and allied organizations, 1920-1929. In 1929 topical dispatches replaced the situation reports. Filmed before Germany’s reunification from files reconstructed by the Federal Archives in Koblenz, West Germany.

Sources for the history of Germany broadly interpreted. from end of Roman Empire to 1500.

Press Directives of the National Socialist Party prior to World War II