Research Guides: History: Journal & Newspaper Article Databases

Journals & Articles

Articles written in journals help to give you context of a historical event or time period. These are typically written by scholars in the field for other scholars in the field, and can often use field-specific terminology. Academic journals are peer reviewed, which means the articles you see published in them went through a vetting process by peers in the field to check facts and sources, which can help when you're evaluating sources for your own research. Here you'll find a list of history-specific journals and journal databases to find scholarly articles.

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Be sure to link your UC account with Google Scholar to have more full text options.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
A definitive index of literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present.
History Compass
Articles on subjects spanning global history.
History of Science, Technology, & Medicine
JSTOR
An interdisciplinary database where you can find scholarly articles, images, and primary source material.
Left Index
The Left Index is a bibliographic database covering the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and cultural scholarship inside and outside academia. Historically significant early Left publications such as the 19th century writings of William Godwin and early 20th century issues of Morning Star, along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky and Engels, are covered.
PAIS
Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. Provides a unique perspective on the 20th century’s most important public and social policies, such as prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, the Vietnam War, and Watergate.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
A comprehensive Western-language database for research on East, Southeast, and South Asia.
America: History & Life
A definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies
Articles on Medieval history.
Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
A database of databases, journals, and books about the Middle Ages & Renaissance.
HAPI
Search the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) for journal article citations about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US.
Index Islamicus
Publications on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
A database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America.
Ohio History Journal
The scholarly journal of the Ohio Historical Society.
Fuente Académica
Full-text journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain covering many academic disciplines.
Exploring Race in Society
Offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Current Newspapers

Here are links to find contemporary news articles. These can be helpful to determine how a current event is being analyzed. For historical newspaper articles, see the Primary Sources tab. For major popular newspapers, see our Newspapers guide.

Ethnic News Watch
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Ohio Newspapers (via NewsBank)
Local Ohio news publications.