Research Guides: Landscape Architecture Guide: Maps

Maps

CIA Maps
"Photo collection represents official photos archived by the Central Intelligence Agency. Information presented on this Web site is considered public information and may be distributed or copied freely unless identified as being subject to copyright protection. In return, we request only that the Central Intelligence Agency be cited as the source of any information, photos, and images copied from this site and that any photo credits or bylines be similarly credited to the photographer or author."
Cincinnati Area Geographical Information System (CAGIS)
"The mission of the Cincinnati Area Geographic Information System (CAGIS) is to create a revolutionary computerized information sharing system that enables the fundamental transformation of government and utility service management and delivery. CAGIS is to offer government, utility companies, groups, or citizens a new, intelligent, and cost effective tool to make informed decisions based on shared data within a standard framework.

In 1995 CAGIS established the foundation for automating the functions of government and utilities whose activities create the inventories of sewers, land records, water, drainage, electrical systems, streets, right of way, etc. supporting the community. Having a real-time availability of the graphic and alpha - numeric inventories has been demonstrated as the strategy upon which major cost improvements in line department operations are based. In 1995 CAGIS began the design for the automation of the Permits System for the City of Cincinnati, Hamilton County and Cincinnati Gas and Electric Company as the first stage of embedding maintenance of inventory data into the on-going work of employees. The Permits project concentrates on the additions and deletions made to all of the public and utility managed inventories by the activities of the private sector. The goals of the project are to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the permitting services offered the private sector while enabling the real time parallel maintenance of the graphic and alpha numeric inventory databases."
City of Cincinnati Topographic Survey of 1912
David Rumsey Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 93,000 maps and related images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific, Arctic, Antarctic, and the World.
FEMA Flood Map Service Center
The FEMA Flood Map Service Center (MSC) is the official public source for flood hazard information produced in support of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Use the MSC to find your official flood map, access a range of other flood hazard products, and take advantage of tools for better understanding flood risk. FEMA flood maps are continually updated through a variety of processes.
Library of Congress Digital Maps
Includes historical maps that typically portray the physical environment and a variety of cultural elements for a geographic area at a particular point in time. The maps in this category show a geographic area larger than a city or town.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world

National Geologic Map
The National Geologic Map from the USGS: developing a distributed archive of standardized geoscience information for the nation.
The National Map – USGS
One stop for all USGS mapping products.
National Maritime Museum Collections Online
The National Maritime Museum collections contain more than 100,000 sea charts and maps dating from the medieval period to the present day.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Relief Maps
Bathemetric and Global Relief maps from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Online maps of current interest and general interest.

PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a cloud-based data and mapping platform enabling government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the U.S. It may be used for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Cincinnati, Hamilton County, Ohio

SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap)
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) is a web-based mapping application to create professional quality, interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of U.S. demographic, business, and marketing variables. Select, sort, and compare data across multiple geographic locations and create custom reports exportable to spreadsheets. First time users must create an account to login.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer contains historical Census data from 1790 to 2000. Database tools allow you to explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps and also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing. You may explore the data through interactive thematic maps of Census 1790 through Census 2000; then create a report from the view of your interest to see numbers and percent breakdowns. You may also go directly to the reports section and choose the data you wish to view and download. Social Explorer also allows you to create and export map slide shows which is very convenient for viewing data over time. Coverage: 1790-present

USGS Topo Maps
Historical and current topographical quadrangle maps