Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles¸ monographs¸ theses¸ patents¸ software¸ audiovisual materials¸ and technical reports related to agriculture.
Coverage: 1970 - present
This multidisciplinary database¸ provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals¸ conference proceedings¸ reports¸ monographs¸ books and government publications.
Coverage: 1960 - present
Art Index Retrospective¸ 1929 -1984¸ provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine¸ decorative¸ and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications¸ many of which are peer-reviewed¸ and citations of over 25¸000 book reviews.
Designed to help building-industry professionals design and build construction projects from a whole-systems perspective and take an integrated design approach that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance. Includes access to Environmental building news articles¸ lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines¸ detailed project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database¸ and publications from BuildingGreen Pittsburgh papers.
Buckeye Yard and Garden onLine provides timely information about Ohio growing conditions, pest, disease, and cultural problems. Updated weekly between April and October, this information is useful for those who are managing a commercial nursery, garden center, or landscape business or someone who just wants to keep their yard looking good all summer.
The Earth Science World Image Bank is a service provided by the American Geological Institute (AGI). This Image Bank is designed to provide quality archaeological¸ geological¸ environmental¸ geophysical¸ and other kinds of images to the public¸ educators¸ and the geoscience community. Plants¸ animals¸ and weather or satellite images are also available.
Ecologists will find in this journal the essence of current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines¸ reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction. Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes¸ plants¸ and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology¸ economics¸ and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture¸ ecosystem ecology¸ energy¸ natural resources¸ marine & freshwater science¸ geography¸ pollution & waste management¸ environmental technology¸ environmental law¸ public policy¸ social impacts¸ urban planning¸ and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from 1¸200 domestic and international journals¸ as well as 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline¸ and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
Garden¸ Landscape & Horticulture Index(tm) (GLHI) is the premier resource for access to articles about plants and gardens. Topics include horticulture¸ garden and landscape design and history¸ botany¸ ecology¸ plant and garden conservation¸ garden management¸ and horticultural therapy. This index and abstract product is designed for gardening enthusiasts¸ professionals¸ and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history. Indexed and abstracted are more than 300 core titles¸ the majority of which are published in English.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly¸ government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals¸ corporations and local/national governments¸ and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming¸ green building¸ pollution¸ sustainable agriculture¸ renewable energy¸ recycling¸ and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture¸ education¸ law¸ health and technology.
Oxford Art Online is an authoritative¸ inclusive¸ and easily searchable online art resource. Through a single gateway users can access-and simultaneously cross-search-an expanding range of Oxford's art reference works: Grove Art Online¸ the Benezit Dictionary of Artists¸ the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics¸ The Oxford Companion to Western Art¸ and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms¸ as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Web search for information from every “land grant” university in the US.
Info about college degree programs, scholarships, career information, and online courses. Images in Plant Facts include photographs of insects and diseases as well as turf related images. In addition to images there are 200 how-to video such as “Winterizing Roses” and Propagating Plants Part I & II. A searchable archive of questions posed to OSU experts is located under the FAQ’s link.
Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Gardens : Plants in the Greater Cincinnati Area.
The National Virtual Arboretum and Regional Ornamental Plant Database is a collaborative effort of numerous regional and national horticulture professionals and organizations. Plants on this database have been selected for their excellent performance and years of service. Promoting diversity in the landscape gives gardeners, landscapers and plant propagators / nurserymen the opportunity to expand with a wider variety and selection of outstanding plants and helps to alleviate monotonous monocultures both aesthetically and disease-wise.
University of Connecticut plant database. Browse by Latin or common plant names or search for plants by attributes such as flower or fall color, sun exposure, or foliage characteristics. Also search for a plant’s tolerance to deer, drought, urban conditions and more.
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies¸ including urban affairs¸ community development¸ urban history¸ and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40¸000 records¸ which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline¸ such as: Urban Affairs Review¸ Urban studies¸ Journal of Urban Affairs¸ etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index¸ bringing coverage back to 1973. Coverage: 1973 - present
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information.