Research Guides: Language Resources: Countries and cultures

Online library resources

(CIA) World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Global Road Warrior
Covers 175 countries. Includes information about: country facts¸ climate¸ society and culture¸ business culture¸ demographics¸ money and banking¸ travel essentials¸ business capitals¸ points of interest¸ security briefing¸ health and medical¸ transportation¸ communications¸ business services¸ technical/internet¸ electrical¸ embassies/consulates and maps.
OhioLINK Music Center (OMC)
OhioLINK Music Center¸ features more than 78¸000 tracks and 21¸000 works from the Naxos Music Library. Users can search for and listen to tracks in six genres - Chinese music¸ classical music¸ opera¸ jazz¸ spoken word and world music - with works from many well-known composers¸ including Bach¸ Handel¸ Beethoven¸ Chopin¸ Strauss¸ Copeland¸ and Ellington. Flash player is required.

Books

Culture and Customs of the United States by Benjamin F. Shearer (Editor)
Call Number: Langsam Stacks E169.1 .C843 2008 v.1 and v. 2
ISBN: 9780313338755
Publication Date: 2007-12-30

Selected book series in the UC collections

Suggested catalog subject headings

Business etiquette -- [country]. For example, Business etiquette -- Japan.

[country] -- Encyclopedias. For example, China -- Encyclopedias.

[country] -- Social life and customs. For example, Colombia -- Social life and customs.

Etiquette -- [country]. For example, Etiquette -- Saudi Arabia.

Festivals OR Festivals -- [country], for example: Festivals -- Germany

Folklore -- [country]. For example, Folklore -- Ireland.

Intercultural communication -- [country]. For example, Intercultural communication -- Australia.

Selected reference sources

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: Langsam Referemce and Stacks GT2850 .E53 2003
ISBN: 0684805685
Publication Date: 2002-12-17
This three-volume set presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society.The "Encyclopedia's multidisciplinary articles, including "Ethnicity and Food," are supplemented by photographs and illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines and a comprehensive index.
Global Business Etiquette by Jeanette S. Martin; Lillian H. Chaney
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780313397189
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
This book provides the invaluable intercultural knowledge to help you make a deal, sell your product, or find a joint venture, no matter where your business takes you.
Handbook of World Families by Bert N. Adams; Jan Trost
Call Number: CECH Reference HQ515 .H3356 2005
ISBN: 0761927638
Publication Date: 2004-11-11
This book provides evidence of world-wide trends in families and family relations. It also illustrates the resilience of local cultures The book comparatively examines families from 25 nations located around the world.
The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions by Mark Juergensmeyer (Editor)
Call Number: Langsam Stacks BL74 .O94 2006
ISBN: 0195137981
Publication Date: 2006-10-12
This is a reference for understanding world religious societies in their contemporary global diversity. Comprising 60 essays, the volume focuses on communities rather than beliefs, symbols, or rites.
The SAGE Dictionary of Cultural Studies by Chris Barker
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 0761973400
Publication Date: 2004-06-09
Containing over 200 entries on key concepts and theorists, the Dictionary provides an unparalled guide to the terrain of cultural studies. The definitions are authoritative, stimulating and written in an accessible style. There are up-to-date entries on new concepts and innovative approaches. An ideal teaching and research resource, the Dicitionary can also be used as a companion to Chris Barker's highly successful Cultural Studies: Theory and Practice (Second Edition, SAGE, 2003) and in conjunction with his Making Sense of Cultural Studies (SAGE, 2002)
Sports Culture: an A-Z guide by Ellis Cashmore
Call Number: Available through OhioLINK
ISBN: 0415181690
Publication Date: 2000-11-30
This book examines individual issues, people, artifacts, events and organizations in their historical, social and cultural contexts.
World Clothing and Fashion by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: Clermont Stacks GT507 .S6 2013 v.1 and v.2
ISBN: 9780765683007
Publication Date: 2013-11-30
Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this work explores the diverse and colourful history of human attire.
World Musics in Context by Peter Fletcher; Laurence Picken (Foreword by)
Call Number: Langsam Stacks ML160 .F64 2001
ISBN: 0198166362
Publication Date: 2001-11-15
This book contains a wide-ranging survey of musics of the world, in historical and social contexts, from ancient times to the present day. .

Images

ARTstor
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative¸ founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation¸ with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship¸ teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 2.5 million digital images and related data.
NOTE: ARTSTOR CONTENT IS MOVING TO JSTOR (MUCH CONTENT IS ALREADY MOVED). ARTSTOR WILL BE RETIRED IN AUGUST 2024.

Europeana Photography
"Europeana Photography presents images from the first 100 years of photography, sourced from photographic archives, agencies and museum collections across Europe. The collection includes work by important pioneers like Julia Margaret Cameron, Eadweard Muybridge and Louis Daguerre... "{Europeana Announcement]
Getty Images
“Getty Images is a global digital media company which moves the world with images. Established in 1995, we proudly represent the work of more than 250,000 talented and dedicated photographers and other content creators, and hundreds of media and content partners. Nearly 2,000 global employees in more than 20 offices around the world...[Site Description]
Google Arts & Culture
Explore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute [Web Site]

Click on "Places" in the left-hand pane.

NYPL Digital Collections

Search for a country or enter specific terms

Visualizing Cultures
Visualizing Cultures was launched at MIT in 2002 to explore the potential of the Web for developing innovative image-driven scholarship and learning. reconstruct the past as people of the time visualized the world (or imagined it to be). Topical units to date focus on Japan in the modern world and early-modern China. The thrust of these explorations extends beyond Asia per se, however, to address "culture" in much broader ways—cultures of modernization, war and peace, consumerism, images of "Self" and "Others," and so on. Images of every sort are introduced and examined here—in partnership with contributing institutions and collections, and with the collaboration of experts ...[Site Description]

Videos

Films on Demand - Streaming Videos
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows viewing of streaming videos from Films Media Group.

Click on Menu - Browse videos . Select Cultural Anthropology or Area Studies or World Music, etc.

Kanopy -Global Studies & Languages (UC only)
Films on global studies and languages in Kanopy, a streaming video subscription service.

Sample video

How The World Dresses: Clothing and Global Culture
A video tour of how the world dresses and explore the amazing diversity of clothing worldwide. Learn about ourselves by exploring everyday clothing in Japan, Korea, India, Thailand, Morocco, Egypt, and others.

People as Information Sources

UC is a multicultural global community. Faculty, staff, and students will be happy to share their knowledge of various cultures with you.

Registered Student Organizations

UC International

Related Guide

Country Information