Mathematical Sciences Senior Capstone

• GMP Library website: libraries.uc.edu/gmp
  • Mark Chalmers Your librarian for Mathematical Sciences & Physics and CEAS (AEEM, CAECM, ME/MET, Fire Science)
  • Aja Bettencourt-McCarthy Your librarian for CEAS (Elect&Comp, Me&Materials, IECE, & Global Programs)
  • Ted Baldwin - Your librarian for A&S Chemistry & Biology and CEAS (BME, ChE, EnvE) 
  • Amy Koshoffer - Your librarian for A&S Geosciences, Geography & GIS, and Environmental Studies. 
  • 240 Braunstein Hall - Open 8:30AM-8:00PM, M-Th & 8:30AM-5:00pm, Friday
    • CLOSED, Saturday
    • OPEN, 1:00PM-5:00PM, Sunday
• Search books & conference proceedings: use Library Catalog or E-Books and Dissertations online
• Make Interlibrary Loan Requests
• View all GMP Library Research & Course Guides
• Current workshops - can include: Python, R, LaTeX, GitHub, data management, citation managers (e.g., RefWorks)

Use these tips to begin your research:

1. Identify keywords
   • Library search tools don't respond well to natural language searching (where you type in your whole question or sentence) instead, you need to identify only the most important words (keywords) in your research question or topic.
2. Think of synonyms and related terms:
   • Library search tools are built to find exact matches so a search for "students" will only find resources with that term and won't find resources with the term "learners" even though they might be relevant to your topic. To ensure that you're not missing important information, take some time to think about synonyms and related terms for each of your keywords.
3. Decide where to begin your search and try the suggested databases in this guide.
4. Build a search query:
   • Create a search set of synonyms (use "OR" operator) for a concept
   • Combine search sets for concepts with "AND" operator
   • use quote marks " " to identify a phrase
   • Use truncation and wild cards to expand based on a word stem (e.g., nano* )
5. Narrow your results:
   • Use refine or limit features to narrow your search results by date, material type, treatment, etc.
6. Examine search result record to see what subjects have been assigned (if any) to the record.
7. Try citation searching
   • Expand to related articles with shared citations
   • Use citation searching and browsing features, including sorting by # of times cited (Web of Science, SciFinder, Google Scholar, etc). 

Find Article Full-Text

• When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon (or "Find Full Text" link in Google Scholar)
  • From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online. Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
  • If not online or in print, submit an Interlibrary Loan (also called ILLiad) request.  ILLiad may automatically fill the request form with your journal article's details.  NOTE: First time ILLiad users may need to complete a contact profile.
• Use Full Text Journals to search by journal title and locate databases containing full-text.
• Search by journal title in the Library Catalog for print and some (not all) electronic access options.

Google Scholar - Register your UC Libraries access

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com.  After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution.  More details: thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/

When full-text is available, a "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left corner.  NOTE: You need to be on the article’s individual page (vs. a database search results page) to trigger this prompt.  Try it out with this example from International Journal of Science Education  https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Click the "Download PDF" prompt.  You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login.  Nomad will track down the article PDF or direct you to other options for full-text as needed.

• Research & Data Services website

• Data Management Planning Guide

Contact: Amy Koshoffer, Assistant Director, Research & Data Services: amy.koshoffer@uc.edu

Other tools and services for researchers

• Data & GIS Collab (GMP Library), 240 Braunstein Hall - large dual monitors, collaboration space, consulting on data and geospatial analysis
• Visualization Laboratory (GMP Library), 240 Braunstein Hall - large wall for collaboration & multi-input projection, consultation on data visualization
• Contact AskData@uc.edu for data, informatics, GIS project consultation, reserving lab space
• OneDrive - (access through Office 365 - https://mail.uc.edu) (storage and backup - more info) 
• Scholar@UC (data archiving, DOI/permanent URL)

• Informationist Services

  Contact AskData@uc.edu for assistance.

• Open Science Framework

  Electronic lab notebook & project management system - http://osf.uc.edu

• ORCID researcher ID tool

  Create your unique researcher "social security number"

UC Libraries access to some popular newspapers and magazines (including current day):

• New York Times
• Wall Street Journal
• Cincinnati Enquirer
• Cincinnati Business Courier

Find more by searching the Full-text E-Journal Finder or check out the Newspapers Research Guide

Music & Theater/Opera Video and Audio (with thanks to CCM's college library)

• Met Opera on Demand (video recordings)
• Kanopy video (documentaries, live performances)
• Many other performances/recordings - Streaming video and audio

Research Your History and Family 

Cincinnati Public Library

• Cincinnati Public Library (many popular e-books and books)
• New York Times direct access - Group pass instructions
• Options to get a public library card