Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Intro to Nanoscale Science & Technology (ENFD3008)

Science & Engineering Librarian

Ted Baldwin's picture
Ted Baldwin
Contact:
CEAS Library, ML 0018
Office Location: 850G Baldwin Hall
513-556-4211
Website

Off Campus Login

How to Connect: Click on the Login to Proxy Server for Off Campus Access button to login with your UC ID username and password. Once you login, you will be directed back to this guide.

(Note: UC's AnyConnect VPN no longer authenticates you to access library e-resources).

General Information


CEAS Library: http://proxy.libraries.uc.edu/login?url=http://libraries.uc.edu/ceas

Science Libraries

Search Tips

Start with a keyword search, then refine by subject or other facets later. 

Building a search query:

  • Create a search set of synonyms (use "OR" operator) for a concept
  • Combine search sets for concepts with "AND" operator
  • use quote marks " " to identify a phrase
  • Use truncation and wild cards to expand based on a word stem (e.g., nano* )
  • More info and general examples: https://libguides.ucmerced.edu/wri10_miller/boolean

Narrow your results:

  • Examine search result record to see what subjects have been assigned (if any) to the record. Subjects can be combined with keywords to focus search, or searched individually to find items that are primarily about the topic.
  • Use refine or limit features such as date, material type (e.g., review article), treatment (in Compendex - theoretical, applied, etc).

Citation searching

  • Expand to related articles with shared citations (Scopus database allows for this)
  • Use citation sorting and browsing features, including sorting by # of times cited (Scopus, SciFinder, etc)

Find Books, Articles, and More

Getting Started / Exploring Topics:

Searching Books (Print & Online)

Databases to Get Started

Specialized Databases:

Other Library Research Guides (extensive lists of handbooks, databases, journals, and more):

Tools for locating full-text

  • When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon ("Find Full Text" in Google Scholar)

ArticleLinker icon

  • From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online.  Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
  • If not online or in print, submit an interlibrary loan (ILLiad) request.  ILLiad will automatically populate the request form with the journal article information. 
    • NOTE: First time ILLiad users will be prompted to fill in a profile. The "M number" is on your UC ID card in the upper left corner.  Enter the M number so it looks like this: M12345678.
  • Use Full Text Journals to search for full-text sources by journal title.
  • Search by journal title in the Library Catalog.

Configure Google Scholar for UC Libraries access

Enable Google Scholar to identify UC-licensed full-text of journal articles.  Access appears as a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.

  1. Go to Google Scholar
  2. Sign in to your Google account (or create one if needed)
  3. Click the icon in the upper left and select “Settings”
  4. Click on “Library Links”
  5. Search for "University of Cincinnati” and add.
  6. Check the box next to "The University of Cincinnati – Find Full-Text at UC” and click “Save”

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full-Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com.  Available for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Vivaldi and Brave browsers. After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution.  More details: https://thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/.

When you reach available full-text, a blue & green "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left.  NOTE: You need to be on the article’s page (vs. database search results page) to trigger this prompt.  See this example from an International Journal of Science Education article - https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Libkey Nomad graphic

 

 

 

 

Click the "Download PDF" prompt.  You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login.  Nomad will locate and download a PDF of the article for you or direct you to other options.

Citing Sources (AIP Style)

Citation Managers / Presenting Your Publications

 

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati