Research Guides: Nursing Resources: Home

Librarian

Subjects: Health Sciences

What's in this guide?

Welcome to the library research guide for the College of Nursing (CoN). This guide provides suggestions and help for finding databases, e-journals, and e-books for the programs in CoN.

Core Nursing Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.Coverage: 1937 - present
PubMed PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health. PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations and abstracts biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. 
EMBASE EMBASE (Excerpta Medica dataBASE) is a biomedical and pharmacological international database (1947 to present). Coverage: 1966 - present
Scopus (Elsevier) A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data. 
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO) is a comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature. Coverage: Full Text: 1965-present/ Citations:1800s-present
Trip TRIP was created in 1997 to bring together all the evidence-based healthcare resources available on the Internet.

Find Articles: Tools for searching journals and scholarly literature as well as point-of-care tools.

E-Books: Access popular nursing texts, and a selection of full-text E-Books at UC.

Reference Management: Resources for organizing references and inserting citations into assignments.

Library Help: Contact the nursing librarian and tutorials

Other HSL Guides

The Health Sciences Library provides many other resources and guides that you may find helpful in your studies.

Contact the Nursing Librarian

Lynn Warner, Research and Health Sciences Librarian
513.558.1433
warnerlc@ucmail.uc.edu

Schedule an appointment with Lynn