PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests¸ measures¸ scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. By creating an organized resource of previously unavailable measurement information, HAPI: (a) provides a means of locating a variety of instruments, (b) helps to reduce inefficiency and cost, and (c) eliminates duplication and "reinvention of the wheel."
Updates related to content and data in ERIC are available via the Education Complete LibGuide.
ERIC indexes education-related literature¸ beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-present). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK, use the connect below.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Locating Primary Research Articles
A primary source in science is a document or record that reports on a study, experiment, trial or research project. Primary sources are usually written by the person(s) who conducted the research, study, or experiment. They include hypothesis, methodology, and results sections.
Essentially, for clinical journal articles, primary sources will be reporting original research – which means a primary source journal article would not be a systematic review, meta-analysis, letter to the editor, etc. Please refer to the Evidence Based Hierarchy Pyramid for clarification (see bottom three levels titled "unfiltered information"):
The evidence based medicine pyramid
There is not necessarily a straight-forward way as part of the database search to limit or filter to primary sources. Within CINAHL or other EBSCOhost resources, you could look in the Detailed Record for “research” articles. You will still have to use your judgment and read the full text article to determine whether it’s a primary source or not. Pay close attention to the methods section - are the authors describing research they did themselves, or secondary research where they are synthesizing previously published materials?
Locating Primary Sources
Primary sources for nursing theory are documents written by the theorist. Secondary sources are those written by someone else about the theory.
Examples of primary sources include:
To find items on a theory, authored by the theorist, search by the theorists name on the UC Libraries main page or in a database like PubMed or CINAHL. For more in depth information for NURS 8002, refer to the library modules in your Canvas course.
