Redirect Notice

Welcome to the new Psychology Basics LibGuide! If you've been redirected from an older library guide, please remember to update your bookmarks.

This research guide was created by UC librarians from Langsam Library, UC Blue Ash, and UC Clermont. It is meant to serve a general, multi-disciplinary group of users interested in psychology topics.

On this guide you will find quick links to Psychology databases and books, some search strategies and APA help, and starting places to begin your Psychology research.

Databases & Articles

These are our top picks for Psychology databases, but you can view more psychology resources on our A-Z database list.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with more than 510 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics¸ psychiatry & psychology¸ mental processes¸ anthropology¸ and observational and experimental methods.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
PsychiatryOnline
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V-TR®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.Also includes journals, textbooks, study guides, and clinical and research news from Psychiatric News, and more.

Search Summon
Summon is a simple and fast library search engine that helps you discover relevant information from the University of Cincinnati Library collections on any topic.

Books

UC Libraries Catalog
Search this catalog for locally held books on any of the UC campus libraries. To find ebooks only, limit your material type to "Book" and future searches to "Online Books, Databases, and Journals".

Browse for Books

Our library is organized so that books about similar topics are near each other. If you can find one book on your topic, you can likely find others similar nearby. Here are some call numbers that may be useful to you:

BF: Psychology
HQ: The family, marriage, women

Where to find them?

Langsam Library: 6th Floor North
Blue Ash Library: 1st Floor
Clermont Library: 2nd Floor

Access Issues

Having issues connecting to library resources?

Access Library Resources : FAQs