Research Guides: Online Reference Shelf: Current and Controversial Issues

Find Reports

CQ Researcher
Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries¸ all the pros and cons¸ two bibliographies¸ and more.
Coverage:1991 - present
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press¸ as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles¸ topic overviews¸ statistics¸ primary documents¸ links to web sites¸ and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers. Coverage: Current

RAND Corporation Research Reports
RAND does research on critical issues of particular relevance to the public policy debate.

Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research."
Polling the Nations
"An online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world."

FactCheck.org
This "nonpartisan, nonprofit, consumer advocate" site monitors the factual accuracy of statements from major U.S. political figures. The site is sponsored by the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
PolitiFact
PolitiFact is a project aimed at bringing the truth in politics. PolitiFact's reporters and editors fact-check statements from the White House, Congress, candidates, advocacy groups and more, rating claims for accuracy on their Truth-O-Meter.
SourceWatch
"The Center for Media and Democracy publishes SourceWatch to track corporations."
The World Factbook (CIA)
Basic facts and statistics about countries.

Some reports and materials in databases like CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints in Context may include statistics.