Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Online Reference Shelf

Quick online reference resources.

Finding Encyclopedias

  • On the Library homepage use the red search box to type in "encyclopedia" along with any keywords related to the type or subject of encyclopedia you need.

  • To narrow the results to only online resources, in the left-hand pane under "Refine your search" click in the "eBook Full Text Online" box.

Summon search results filtered to online resources.

 

Encyclopedia Collections

Selected Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias in Subject Guides

To search for subject-specific dictionaries in the catalog, do a SUBJECT SEARCH for your discipline followed by "encyclopedia"; for example, "computer science --encyclopedias," Online encyclopedias will include "electronic resource" as part of the title.

Please note that some dictionaries may be available only in print and for use on library premises.

Some of our online research guides include links to subject-specific reference sources; for example:

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2021 University of Cincinnati