Research Guides: Science Basics: Earth Science Basics

Finding Articles

If you're looking for scholarly articles, conference papers, technical reports, and industry news, etc., use the following recommended databases. UC authentication is required. Please contact your librarian if you need help locating information from them.

Finding Full Text

Many databases available through UC provide links to the full text article. To find out if the full text is available from UC, look for the UC Article Linker icon.

Databases

GEOBASE
Includes literature on the earth sciences: geology, human and physical geograph, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
GreenFile
Includes information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Web of Science
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.

Ebooks

With your UC account, you can read ebooks anywhere and anytime.

ENVIROnetBASE
Includes how-tos for remediating environmental issues but also the science behind them ranging from environmental protection and remediation to green and sustainable practices, biofuels, and renewable energy.

State and National Resources

Explore these resources to learn more information earth science resources and initiatives at the state and national level.

U.S. Department of the Interior
Several of the Department of Interior's bureaus deal with the environment of the United States: National Park Service, Fish & Wildlife Service, Bureau of Land Management, Geological Survey, Bureau of Reclamation.
Ohio Department of Natural Resources
Explore the Discover & Learn tab to learn about animals; plants & trees; rocks; minerals & fossils; land & water; education & training; and safety & conservation in Ohio.