Research Guides: BIOL 2028: Introduction to Pharmacology (UCBA): Home

Chat With Us!

How to Use This Section

This section was created to help find resources for the BIOL 2028 Introduction to Pharmacology Term Paper about a drug or pharmacologic treatment of a disease. This guide provides a variety of resources such as: scholarly journal databases, books, and credible websites. Please refer to the course syllabus for detailed information about the assignment.

Finding Articles

If you're looking for scholarly articles, conference papers, technical reports, and industry news, etc., use the following recommended databases. UC authentication is required. Please contact your librarian if you need help locating information from them.

Finding Full Text

Many databases available through UC provide links to the full text article. To find out if the full text is available from UC, look for the UC Article Linker icon.

Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences.

Not able to find the full text? Make an Interlibrary Loan request

Interlibrary Loan - ILLiad
Log in with your UC central login. First time users will be prompted to fill out a profile which will then automatically supply your information for any subsequent requests.

Books

The University of Cincinnati Libraries offers a large number of books and ebooks. To search for and request materials, please use the UC Libraries Catalog. Your UC ID or a current, government issued Driver's License are required to borrow materials.

UC Library Catalog
The catalog is the primary source of information about all UC library collections.

Physicians' Desk Reference, 69th Edition by PDR Staff
Call Number: UCBA Reference RS75 .P5
Publication Date: 2017
The PDR provides critical, current information on the most commonly prescribed drugs in the U.S. Includes dosages, indications, warnings and precautions, side effects, safety information, pregnancy ratings, interactions with other drugs, food, and alcohol, clinical trials data, time-sensitive email reports delivering news of important label changes, new FDA product approvals, and other health-related information.
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2014 by Barbara B. Hodgson
Call Number: e-Book
ISBN: 9780323222570
Publication Date: 2013
Over 1,000 generic name drugs (encompassing over 4,000 trade name drugs) organized alphabetically with A to Z tabs to make accessing important information quick and easy. Detailed drug information distinguishing side effects and adverse reactions helps you identify which are most likely to occur.
Drug Interaction Facts 2010 by David, Tatro; Facts and Comparisons Staff; David S. Tatro (Editor)
Call Number: UCBA Reference RM 302 .D76 2010
ISBN: 9781574393095
Publication Date: 2010
Drug Interaction Facts provides information on the onset, severity, and documentation of clinically significant interactions, including a review of their effects, mechanism, and management. Readers will also find discussion and assessment of the data used to document the interaction.

Websites

Explore these sites to learn more about various pharmaceutical companies and drugs.

Drug Reactions | MedlinePlus
Information and resources about drug interactions, side effects, and allergies.
Drugs, Herbs and Supplements | Medline Plus
Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
Drugs | FDA.org
Information about drugs, drug development and approval, drug safety, research, news & events and more...
Pharmaceutical Companies | Drugs.com
List of Pharmaceutical Companies websites, contact information and listings of the drugs they manufacture.