This section was created to help find resources for the BIOL 2028 Introduction to Pharmacology Term Paper about a drug or pharmacologic treatment of a disease. This guide provides a variety of resources such as: scholarly journal databases, books, and credible websites. Please refer to the course syllabus for detailed information about the assignment.
If you're looking for scholarly articles, conference papers, technical reports, and industry news, etc., use the following recommended databases. UC authentication is required. Please contact your librarian if you need help locating information from them.
Finding Full Text
Many databases available through UC provide links to the full text article. To find out if the full text is available from UC, look for the UC Article Linker icon.
Databases
Not able to find the full text? Make an Interlibrary Loan request
The University of Cincinnati Libraries offers a large number of books and ebooks. To search for and request materials, please use the UC Libraries Catalog. Your UC ID or a current, government issued Driver's License are required to borrow materials.
Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2015 by
To deliver the best care to your patients, turn to the #1 annually updated guide in internal medicine and clinical practice. A Doody's Core Title for 2015. The 2015 Edition is packed with important NEW information! For more than 70 years, professors, students, and clinicians have trusted LANGE for high-quality, current, concise medical information in a convenient, affordable, portable format. Whether for coursework, clerkships, USMLE prep, specialty board review, or patient care, there's a LANGE book that guarantees success. NEW TO THIS EDITION: Latest 2014 American Heart Association/American College of Cardiology guidelines for anticoagulation in atrial fibrillation, and indications for interventions in valvular heart disease Update on the epidemic of opioid-based prescription drug abuse, misuse and overdose, and new section on opioids for chronic, noncancer pain Revised treatment options for Helicobacter pylori and chronic hepatitis C Latest hypertension information from 2013 UK National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence and US Joint National Committee (JNC8) Reports Discussion of which patients benefit from statins, and indications for high vs. moderate intensity statins, based on 2014 AHA/ACC guidelines Scoring tools for assessing the severity of acute pancreatitis Revised psychiatric diagnoses in accordance with the Diagnostic Statistical Manual's 5th edition No other text links practice and research like CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment! Written by clinicians renowned in their fields, this trusted annual text offers the most current insight into symptoms, signs, epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment for more than 1,000 diseases and disorders. You'll find concise, evidence-based answers to questions about both hospital and ambulatory problems. The streamlined format of each section in this clinical companion is the fastest, easiest way to keep abreast of the latest diagnostic advances, prevention strategies, and cost-effective treatments. Here's why CMDT is essential to your clinical practice: Strong emphasis on the practical aspects of clinical diagnosis and patient management throughout the broad fields of internal medicine Full review of other relevant primary care topics, including obstetrics/gynecology, dermatology, neurology, urology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, geriatrics, women's health, and palliative care Hundreds of medication treatment tables, with indexed trade names and updated prices Many helpful diagnostic and treatment algorithms Only text with an annual review of advances in HIV treatment Recent references with PMID numbers for easy online access Many full-color photographs and illustrations
2015 Physicians' Desk Reference, 69th Edition by
The Physicians' Desk Reference has been the premier reference on prescription drugs for 69 years. This highly respected, instantly recognized book is found in nearly every physician's office, clinic, hospital, pharmacy, and library. Completely updated every year, the PDR provides critical, current information on the most commonly prescribed drugs in the U.S. Every full, FDA-approved drug label in the PDR includes dosages, indications, warnings and precautions, side effects, safety information such as contraindications, pregnancy ratings, interactions with other drugs, food, and alcohol, clinical trials data, time-sensitive email reports delivering news of important label changes, new FDA product approvals, and other health-related information. Comprehensive indexing by a drug's brand and generic name, as well as by its manufacturer and therapeutic category, gives users multiple, easy ways to access the information they seek. The PDR also includes a product identification guide with hundreds of full-color images of products.
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2014 by
Written by two expert nursing and pharmacy clinicians and organized alphabetically by generic drug name, Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2014 provides essential information for over 1,000 generic name and 4,000 trade name drugs in one quick, convenient source. With comprehensive coverage of IV drug administration as well as guidance through clinical priorities in the practice setting, this resource offers the precautionary information you need to provide safer patient care. Over 1,000 generic name drugs (encompassing over 4,000 trade name drugs) organized alphabetically with A to Z tabs to make accessing important information quick and easy.Detailed drug information distinguishing side effects and adverse reactions helps you identify which are most likely to occur.Special text treatment for "High Alert" drugs that pose the greatest risk for patient harm promotes safe drug administration.UNIQUE ( for ebook only) Frequently-used herb monographs as well as additional herb information" "keep you informed of commonly encountered herbs."Top 200 Drugs" helps you identify the most frequently administered drugs.Lifespan and disorder-related dosage variations content equips you with special considerations for specific patient populations.Therapeutic and toxic blood level information shows you patient implications for drug administration.Comprehensive "IV Compatibility Chart" foldout arms you with compatibility information for 65 intravenous drugs.NEW Drug monographs for approximately 28 newly approved drugs by the FDA provide you with the most current drug information.NEW Updated monographs with new interactions, precautions, alerts and patient teaching instructions boost your confidence in accuracy and help prevent medication dispensing errors.NEW Nearly 300 Black Box Alerts highlight drugs found to carry a significant risk of serious or even life-threatening adverse effects.NEW Enhanced Pageburst eBook works on any mobile device giving you access to drug information from virtually anywhere.
Drug Interaction Facts 2010 by
Drug Interaction Facts™ provides health professionals with a fast and accurate interaction screening tool, with over 18,000 monographs. In just seconds, potential interactions can be reviewed by class, generic drug, or trade name. Comprehensive information on drug/drug or drug/food interactions is provided in a unique and logical quick-reference format to enhance the speed and accuracy of therapeutic decision making. Drug Interaction Facts™ provides information on the onset, severity, and documentation of clinically significant interactions, including a review of their effects, mechanism, and management. Readers will also find discussion and assessment of the data used to document the interaction.
Explore these sites to learn more about various pharmaceutical companies and drugs.
