Faculty Research at UCBA

The topic of social justice in higher education is an evolving field of research across the disciplines. This page provides starting points for research on this topic and will continue to change as the conversation continues. Please contact your library faculty liaison with any questions or to schedule a research consultation.

Keywords & Phrases
These can be used individually or as a combination using multiple terms. You can also combine term(s) with your discipline. 

• Social justice / activism / social movement / human rights (Tip: use phrase searching)
• Multiculturalism
• Decolonization / decolonisation (Tip: use truncation)
• Pedagogy / curriculum / classroom environment
• Culturally relevant/responsive education
• Higher education / college / university / post secondary / academia
• Diversity equity inclusion (or equity diversity inclusion)
• Inclusive
• Anti racism

Search Tips
These techniques can narrow or broaden search results:

• Phrase searching (e.g. "social justice") - search terms stay side by side and in exact order
• Publication date - limit results to specific year or years
• Truncation (e.g. decoloni*) - broadens search to include various word endings and spellings 

Your discipline may use many of these terms or only a few. It is recommended to try different combinations when beginning your search.

For these resources, we recommend searching multiple databases at the same time to broaden your search, save time, and remove duplicate results. To do this: login into one of the databases and click "Choose Databases" (for EBSCO databases) or "Change Databases" (for ProQuest databases) then select the databases you want to include in search.

The UC Libraries have a variety of ebooks and streaming media on the topic of social justice in higher education. For a starting point, browse the list of selected items.