Research Guides: BME2000: Biomedical Engineering in the Clinical Environment: B. Clinical Need

Identify the clinical need for the device

HINT: Search these general resources for mention of your device and how it is used in a clinical setting. Note: consumer information is geared toward what consumers use (crutches, pacemakers), vs. what doctors may use in a surgical setting.

Company information:

Business Source Complete Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.Coverage: 1886 - present

Selected Research Journals:

Journal of Clinical Engineering
Journal of Medical Devices
Research on experimental and innovative devices
Medical and Biological Engineering and Computing
Medical Devices: Evidence and Research (journal)

See the Health Sciences Library website for additional databases

Other major databases for Engineering and Science

Scopus (Elsevier)
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data.
Web of Science
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
EMBASE
An international biomedical database known for its comprehensive evidence-based coverage of drug, disease, and medical device literature.
PubMed
Database for medical research, a service of the National Library of Medicine. Contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from 3,900 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. The database includes over 19 million citations. PubMed covers international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science related to medicine. Coverage from the 1950s to date.

Google Scholar - Articles on the Web

Searching the Literature

Basic tips: Keyword Searching in Databases

Strategic Searching Tips
If you're having trouble getting started or need to troubleshoot your search results take a look at these searching tips

Tools for locating full-text

Find Article Full-Text

When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon (or "Find Full Text" link in Google Scholar)
- From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online. Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
- If not online or in print, submit an Interlibrary Loan (also called ILLiad) request. ILLiad may automatically fill the request form with your journal article's details. NOTE: First time ILLiad users may need to complete a contact profile.
Use Full Text Journals to search by journal title and locate databases containing full-text.
Search by journal title in the Library Catalog for print and some (not all) electronic access options.

Google Scholar - Register your UC Libraries access

Tell Google Scholar you are with UC so that search results provide links to UC-licensed full-text. Access is indicated with a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.

Go to Google Scholar
Sign in to your Google account (or create one if needed)
Click the icon in the upper left and select “Settings”
Click on “Library Links”
Search for "University of Cincinnati."
Check the box next to "University of Cincinnati – Find Full-Text at UC” and click “Save”

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com. After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution. More details: thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/

When full-text is available, a "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left corner. NOTE: You need to be on the article’s individual page (vs. a database search results page) to trigger this prompt. Try it out with this example from International Journal of Science Education https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Click the "Download PDF" prompt. You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login. Nomad will track down the article PDF or direct you to other options for full-text as needed.

Request Articles and Books

Is the item you need not at UC? Request it via the online request system ILLiad.

Log in with your UC central login. First time users will be prompted to fill out a profile which will then automatically supply your information for any subsequent requests.