Research Guides: BME2000: Biomedical Engineering in the Clinical Environment: C. Design Constraints

Using Embase for Medical Device Searching

From Embase, click on the Medical Device search option near the top left.
Click Add Device name and enter medical device
Select appropriate device and click on Add device name
Choose appropriate subheadings, adverse effects, and enter any study limits.
Click show results

Be sure to:

Double check that the results are sorted by Relevance!
Add filters as needed --> especially the Device Trade Name

What parameters affected the design of the equipment?

UC Library Catalog for books and e-Books on medical devices or health devices.

Also, see the guide on E-books in Science and Engineering.

PubMed
For medical research information
EMBASE
Do a 'Device' search; select Device from the pull down Search menu. Search for the device name and design.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Search on a combination of the device name and design as keywords

Engineering Standards may impact design considerations, for example:

ASTM Compass NOTE: If accessing from off-campus, use the Chrome browser for best results. Full access to ASTM Standards, ASTM Journals, and Selected Technical Papers. Also contains standards training materials and tools to add notes, images and attachments.

Tools for locating full-text

Find Article Full-Text

When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon (or "Find Full Text" link in Google Scholar)
- From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online. Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
- If not online or in print, submit an Interlibrary Loan (also called ILLiad) request. ILLiad may automatically fill the request form with your journal article's details. NOTE: First time ILLiad users may need to complete a contact profile.
Use Full Text Journals to search by journal title and locate databases containing full-text.
Search by journal title in the Library Catalog for print and some (not all) electronic access options.

Google Scholar - Register your UC Libraries access

Tell Google Scholar you are with UC so that search results provide links to UC-licensed full-text. Access is indicated with a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.

Go to Google Scholar
Sign in to your Google account (or create one if needed)
Click the icon in the upper left and select “Settings”
Click on “Library Links”
Search for "University of Cincinnati."
Check the box next to "University of Cincinnati – Find Full-Text at UC” and click “Save”

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com. After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution. More details: thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/

When full-text is available, a "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left corner. NOTE: You need to be on the article’s individual page (vs. a database search results page) to trigger this prompt. Try it out with this example from International Journal of Science Education https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Click the "Download PDF" prompt. You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login. Nomad will track down the article PDF or direct you to other options for full-text as needed.

Request Articles and Books

Is the item you need not at UC? Request it via the online request system ILLiad.

Log in with your UC central login. First time users will be prompted to fill out a profile which will then automatically supply your information for any subsequent requests.