Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Psychology Graduate Student Guide

The Graduate Student Orientation Guide provides a summary of the UC Libraries resources and services available for your graduate course work and research.

Research Strategies

Summon Video Tutorials

APA and PsycINFO Tutorials

Finding Sources from a Citation

You may already have a citation for an article from your professor's recommendation or another  source. This is how you would locate the article.

Method 1

On the UC Libraries page paste your article title in the red search box. If this is an exact title enclose it in quotation marks to avoid irrelevant hits.

search box with a title entered

If the title is short and/or common, add the author's name and/or journal title.

search bos with totle and authro entered

Summon, our metasearch tool, will return results with links to online full text.

You can also use advanced Summon search.

Method 2

  • On the UC Libraries page click the Journals tab in the red search box. Alternatively you can use the search box on the Journals page of this guide. E-Journals advanced search page.
  • Type in as much of the journal title as you want.
    (Please note: this search option is for JOURNAL titles, not articles titles)!
  • Click "Search." The result will indicate which database/index to search for full text. Check the dates carefully to make sure the year you need is available electronically.

  • If an electronic version of the journal title or the desired issues it is not available electronically, you must then search the Library Catalog for a print issue. On the library record screen for the journal title note the location and call number of the journal. Please note that current issues are often found in a different location than bound journals.

Method 3.

Locating Article Full Text

In some databases full text will follow the citation. In most instances for accessing full text you will have to look for icons that may look like this:

full text icons

If you don't see those icons or links don't work, look for the ArticleLinker button or "Find Full Text at UC" link. The button or link will take you to the tool that searches for full text articles in library database. Learn how this tool works and how to make the most of it: ArticleLinker FAQ.

If the article is not available online ArticleLinker will suggest searching the library catalog for a print version or ordering the article via ILLiad (interlibrary loan):

ArticleLinker screen

When requesting items not available at UC, click the appropriate Interlibrary Loan form and login to your account with your UC Central Login username and password. If you have not used ILLiad before, you will be asked to fill out a profile. For a seamless experience, do this first. Once you are logged in, the article request form will be automatically populated with the article bibliographic information.

Database Search Tips

Database search tools:

Nearly all research literature databases offer the tools shown below.  These tools will significantly enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of your search.  To identify the search tools for any database, select the HELP link and look for terms such Boolean, proximity, truncation or advanced searching.

Boolean operators:

AND, OR, NOT  (can vary by database or search service)

E.G.:  recidivism  AND  rape  (Retrieves records that contain both terms)

 

Proximity operators:

N# (Near operator), W# (Within operator)  (will vary by database or search service)    E.G.: urban N4 crime  (Retrieves records that have both terms within 4 words of one another, e.g.,  urban crime, crime in urban areas

Field qualification:

Used to limit search of concepts to specific “fields,” e.g. title or subject heading fields.

Truncation (wildcards):

 

The following symbols are often used:  * , ?, !, or #

(Retrieves word derivatives of a stem or  places a “wildcard” for one or two letters.)

E.G.: recidivis* retrieves recidivist, recidivists or recidivism

E.G.: wom?n retrieves women, woman or womyn

 

 

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2021 University of Cincinnati