The databases listed here act as powerful specialized portals for IT research and are a good first-step for any research assignment.
A full-text database covering computing, technology, and engineering disciplines. Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 2,000 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection.
Full-text access to high quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and other related technology disciplines. Includes IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, in addition to books and educational courses.
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data.
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health. PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations and abstracts biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Learn how to use these resources on the Doing Market Research page of this guide!
Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Coverage: 1886 - present
IBISWorld Industry Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries in all major U.S. industry sectors at the 5-digit level of NAICS . Reports are updated regularly¸ and contain: key statistics¸ market characteristics¸ segmentation¸ industry conditions¸ industry performance¸ key competitors¸ key factors¸ and industry outlook and forecast.
Coverage - Current
Market research reports primarily for the U.S. and covers a variety of sectors including beauty and personal¸ health and medical¸ electronic¸ consumer goods¸ lifestyles¸ travel and tourism¸ financial industry¸ internet industry¸ retail¸ and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers¸ market size & trends¸ market segmentation¸ supply structure¸ advertising and promotion¸ retail distribution¸ consumer characteristics¸ and future and forecasts. Users will need to click on "I Agree" with the "Conditions of use" statement - each time they enter the database¸ and to establish and login into a profile with a UC e-mail address. Coverage: current
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) is a web-based mapping application to create professional quality, interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of U.S. demographic, business, and marketing variables. Select, sort, and compare data across multiple geographic locations and create custom reports exportable to spreadsheets. First time users must create an account to login.
