Research Guides: Information Technology Complete: Books/E-Books

Select E-Book Databases

O'Reilly Ebooks
O'Reilly Ebooks (formerly Safari Ebooks Online) provides electronic books and videos in computer science, information technology, business and related fields from O'Reilly and other IT and business publishers. NOTE: First time users (authorized UC users) need to register for an account at O'Reilly with their UC email address to access the site. More instructions are available in this guide.
View this video to learn more about how to access O'Reilly
InfoSci-Books
InfoSci-Books includes full-text books and proceedings on the following topics: IT management¸ end user computing¸ data mining¸ knowledge management¸ e-commerce¸ multimedia databases¸ telecommunications¸ and distance learning in the following areas: Business Management; Computer Science; Education Technologies; Electronic Commerce; Environmental IS; Healthcare Information Systems; Information Systems; Library Science; Multimedia Information Systems; Public Information Systems; Social Science and Technologies. Coverage starts in 2000.
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK)
Electronic Book Center contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers¸ covering many subject areas.
ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary and EBL) has over 25,000 academic books online. You can search by subject¸ author¸ title¸ or publisher.

Key Books on Information Technology

Many books on this list are located in the CEAS Library. The CEAS Library is located in Baldwin Hall 850. You can find Baldwin Hall on a UC Campus Map. It is near Swift and Old Chemistry buildings, behind the Steger Student Life Center.

Clean Code by Robert Martin
Call Number: Located in CEAS Library | | E-Book
ISBN: 9780132350884
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Even bad code can function. But if code isn't clean, it can bring a development organization to its knees. Every year, countless hours and significant resources are lost because of poorly written code. But it doesn't have to be that way.
Design Patterns by Erich Gamma; Richard Helm; Ralph Johnson; John Vlissides
Call Number: Located at other UC Libraries | | E-book
ISBN: 9780201633610
Publication Date: 1994-10-31
Capturing a wealth of experience about the design of object-oriented software, four top-notch designers present a catalog of simple and succinct solutions to commonly occurring design problems. Previously undocumented, these 23 patterns allow designers to create more flexible, elegant, and ultimately reusable designs without having to rediscover the design solutions themselves.
Don't Make Me Think by Steve Krug
Call Number: Located in CEAS Library | | E-Book
ISBN: 9780321344755
Publication Date: 2005-08-18
Five years and more than 100,000 copies after it was first published, it's hard to imagine anyone working in Web design who hasn't read Steve Krug's "instant classic" on Web usability, but people are still discovering it every day. In this second edition, Steve adds three new chapters in the same style as the original: wry and entertaining, yet loaded with insights and practical advice for novice and veteran alike.
Don't Make Me Think, Revisited by Steve Krug
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780321965516
Publication Date: 2013-12-24
Design intuitive navigation for the ideal user experience Hundreds of thousands of Web designers and developers have relied on web usability expert Steve Krug's guide to help them understand the principles of intuitive navigation and information design. You'll see why so many people have said it should be required reading for anyone working on websites.
Head First Design Patterns by Eric Freeman; Elisabeth Robson
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781492078005
Publication Date: 2021-01-12
What will you learn from this book? You know you don't want to reinvent the wheel, so you look to Design Patterns: the lessons learned by those who've faced the same software design problems. With Design Patterns, you get to take advantage of the best practices and experience of others so you can spend your time on something more challenging. Something more fun. This book shows you the patterns that matter, when to use them and why, how to apply them to your own designs, and the object-oriented design principles on which they're based.
Information Architecture for the World Wide Web by Peter Morville; Louis Rosenfeld
Call Number: Request the book | | E-Book
ISBN: 9780596527341
Publication Date: 2006-12-07
The post-Ajaxian Web 2.0 world of wikis, folksonomies, and mashups makes well-planned information architecture even more essential. How do you present large volumes of information to people who need to find what they're looking for quickly? This classic primer shows information architects, designers, and web site developers how to build large-scale and maintainable web sites that are appealing and easy to navigate.
Interaction Design by Yvonne Rogers; Helen Sharp; Jennifer Preece
Call Number: Located in CECH Library | | E-Book
ISBN: 9781119901099
Publication Date: 2023-04-04
In the newly updated sixth edition of Interaction Design: Beyond Human-Computer Interaction, a team of accomplished technology, design, and computing professors delivers an intuitive and instructive discussion of the principles underlying the design of effective interactive technologies. The book explores the interdisciplinary foundations of interaction design, including skills from product design, computer science, human and social psychology, and others.
Introduction to Algorithms, Fourth Edition by Thomas H. Cormen; Charles E. Leiserson; Ronald L. Rivest; Clifford Stein
Call Number: Located in CEAS Library | | E-book
ISBN: 9780262046305
Publication Date: 2022-04-05
A comprehensive update of the leading algorithms text, with new material on matchings in bipartite graphs, online algorithms, machine learning, and other topics. Some books on algorithms are rigorous but incomplete; others cover masses of material but lack rigor. Introduction to Algorithms uniquely combines rigor and comprehensiveness. It covers a broad range of algorithms in depth, yet makes their design and analysis accessible to all levels of readers, with self-contained chapters and algorithms in pseudocode.
The Mythical Man-Month by Frederick Brooks; Frederick Brooks
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780201835953
Publication Date: 1995-08-02
Few books on software project management have been as influential and timeless as The Mythical Man-Month. With a blend of software engineering facts and thought-provoking opinions, Fred Brooks offers insight for anyone managing complex projects. These essays draw from his experience as project manager for the IBM System/360 computer family and then for OS/360, its massive software system.
The Pragmatic Programmer by David Thomas; Andrew Hunt
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780135957059
Publication Date: 2019-09-13
The Pragmatic Programmer is one of those rare tech books you'll read, re-read, and read again over the years. Whether you're new to the field or an experienced practitioner, you'll come away with fresh insights each and every time. Topics range from personal responsibility and career development to architectural techniques for keeping your code flexible and easy to adapt and reuse.

Subject Searches in UC Library Catalog

Clicking on any of these subjects will execute a search for resources in the UC Libraries online catalog. Click on the subject that interests you.