Skip to Main Content
Electronic Book Collections
e-Books at UC Libraries
An e-book is a book in digital format. Many digital books are available online free of charge or inexpensively from book vendors, such as Amazon, etc.
University of Cincinnati Libraries provide access to thousands of e-books in a variety of subject areas. You can access e-books wherever and whenever you need them. It is important to understand that books available through UC Libraries work differently than the books you buy for your personal use.Guide Introduction by Olga Hart
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK)
Electronic Book Center contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers¸ covering many subject areas.
Middle Eastern Studies Digital Collections
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes¸ occasional papers series from NGOs¸ foundation-funded research projects¸ and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material on a regular schedule. Working papers are augmented every month¸ as are conference proceedings¸ policy briefs and economic indicators. Links and resources¸ the schedule of events and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available.
Coverage: Full Text; 1991 - present
Digital National Security Archives (DNSA)
The Digital National Security Archive is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 63¸000 of the most important¸ declassified documents - totaling more than 488¸144 pages - are included in the database. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Foreign Broadcast Information Electronic Index
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political¸ economic¸ scientific¸ and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts¸ news agency transmissions¸ newspapers¸ periodicals¸ and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information.
World News Connection
World News Connection (WNC) is an online news service¸ only accessible via the World Wide Web¸ that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources¸ WNC provides you with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources¸ the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic¸ political¸ scientific¸ technical¸ and environmental issues and events. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles¸ conference proceedings¸ television and radio broadcasts¸ periodicals¸ and non-classified technical reports. New information is entered into WNC every government business day. Generally¸ new information is available within 48-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast. Coverage: November 1995 - December 31, 2013
World Politics Review
World Politics Review was created for foreign policy professionals who have a world of online breaking news at their fingertips. Our tightly focused coverage gives context to the key trends and events in international affairs.
