Skip to Main Content
Islamic World and Middle East Comprehensively
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam¸ the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. The Unit was established in 1983 to continue the compilations and publications of the Index Islamicus bibliography and to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies¸ which have been part of the curriculum at Cambridge University since the early 17th century. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications¸ with some going back to 1906.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world
Middle East Research Journals
The MERJ project aimed to provide preservation microfilming, article-level indexing, and bibliographic access to over 2,000 selected Middle Eastern journal titles in various languages (including four non-Roman script languages: Arabic, Greek, Hebrew, and Ottoman Turkish) [Site Description]
Art and Architecture topics
Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995¸ high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984¸ including 280 peer-reviewed journals¸ as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13¸000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200¸000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements¸ including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine¸ decorative and commercial art¸ folk art¸ photography¸ film¸ and architecture¸ and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Coverage: 1984 - present
Business topics
Business Source Complete
Business database with full text for over 3¸600 serials¸ including over 1¸000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text¸ non-journal content includes financial data¸ books¸ monographs¸ major reference works¸ book digests¸ conference proceedings¸ case studies¸ investment research reports¸ industry reports¸ market research reports¸ country reports¸ company profiles¸ SWOT analyses and more.Coverage: 1886 - present
Communication/Journalism topics
Communication & Mass Media Complete
This product began as the merger of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch provided citation indexing of 32 journals in communication studies¸ with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation indexing of over 60 research journals¸ as well as major journalism reviews¸ recent encyclopedias¸ and handbooks in the area of communications studies. The combined product incorporates full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.Coverage: 1915 - present
Culture and Society topics
Abstracts in Anthropology
This major abstracting service provides comprehensive coverage of anthropological scholarship covering cultural anthropology¸ physical anthropology¸ archaeology¸ and linguistics.
Coverage: 1970 - present
Anthropology Plus
This database brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index¸ Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. It provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles¸ reports¸ commentaries¸ edited works¸ and obituaries in the fields of social¸ cultural¸ physical¸ biological¸ and linguistic anthropology¸ ethnology¸ archaeology¸ folklore¸ material culture¸ and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Coverage: 1800 - present
eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF World Cultures (formerly called "eHRAF Collection of Ethnography" ) is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Global Road Warrior
Covers 175 countries. Includes information about: country facts¸ climate¸ society and culture¸ business culture¸ demographics¸ money and banking¸ travel essentials¸ business capitals¸ points of interest¸ security briefing¸ health and medical¸ transportation¸ communications¸ business services¸ technical/internet¸ electrical¸ embassies/consulates and maps.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1¸910¸000 records with subject headings from a 19¸300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908¸ and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs¸ and full text for 6¸743 conference papers. Coverage: 1895 - present
Sociological Collection
The database includes 615 full text titles covering all areas of sociology¸ including social behavior¸ human tendencies¸ interaction¸ relationships¸ community development¸ culture and social structure.
Human and Physical Geography topics
GEOBASE
GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences¸ including geology¸ human and physical geography¸ environmental sciences¸ oceanography¸ geomechanics¸ alternative energy sources¸ pollution¸ waste management and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals¸ trade publications¸ book series and conference proceedings.Coverage: 1973 - present
Population Index on the Web
Population Index is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books¸ journal articles¸ working papers¸ and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46¸035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000. Population Index ceased publication in 2000. The website is organized in three major sections: Home (the User's Guide and list of resources)¸ Browse and Search. Coverage: 1986 - 2000
History topics
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO )
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada¸ which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2¸000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country and journals of regional history¸ Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Historical Abstracts also cites new books reviewed in key English-language history and review journals. Dissertation citations relevant to the serial's subject scope are derived from Dissertation Abstracts International.Coverage: 1955 - present
Language and Literature topics
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages¸ literatures¸ folklore¸ and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45¸000 books and articles.
Multidisciplinary
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.Coverage: 1865 - present
CPI.Q (Gale OneFIle)
Provides comprehensive Canadian and international periodical coverage¸ with an emphasis on mainstream and academic titles available in Canadian libraries. Indexed periodical coverage from 1988 to the present; fulltext periodical coverage from 1995 to the present¸ and information from Gale science¸ biography and geography databases. Also¸ fulltext of selected sections of the Globe and mail¸ Canada's national newspaper¸ from 1997 to the present.
Coverage: Full Text: 1988 - present
Humanities Index (BHI)
Humanities Index (BHI) is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities¸ BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries¸ as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.Coverage: 1962 - present
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete is a comprehensive database of humanities content¸ providing full text of hundreds of journals¸ books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing)¸ this database includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index (over 1.6 million records) plus unique full text content.
Project MUSE
Access to articles from over 40 journals in the humanities starting in 1995. Coverage: Full Text; 1995 - present
ProQuest Research Library
One of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system¸ Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas¸ including business¸ education¸ literature¸ political science¸ and psychology. The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.Coverage: 1971 - present
Political and International Affairs topics
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes¸ occasional papers series from NGOs¸ foundation-funded research projects¸ and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material on a regular schedule. Working papers are augmented every month¸ as are conference proceedings¸ policy briefs and economic indicators. Links and resources¸ the schedule of events and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available.
Coverage: Full Text; 1991 - present
International Political Science Abstracts
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA)¸ produced by the International Political Science Association¸ includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database contains over 262¸700 records from over 1000 journals published from 1951 to the present. Approximately 8¸000 new records are added to the database each year.Coverage: 1951 - present
PAIS (ProQuest)
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive (now PAIS ProQuest). PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990¸ at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles¸ books¸ government documents¸ statistical directories¸ grey literature¸ research reports¸ conference papers¸ web content¸ and more. PAIS (formerly PAIS Archive) is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin¸ volumes 1-62¸ published 1915-1976. PAIS (ProQuest)contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs¸ periodical articles¸ notes and announcements¸ and analytics. Coverage: 1914-present
Religion and Philosophy topics
ATLA Religion Database
(Formerly Religion Index) ATLA Religion Database¸ produced by the America Theological Society¸ is a comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship. It contains more than one million citations from 1¸400+ international journal titles and 14¸000 multi-author works and book reviews related to religious studies.
Coverage: 1949 - present
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam¸ the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. The Unit was established in 1983 to continue the compilations and publications of the Index Islamicus bibliography and to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies¸ which have been part of the curriculum at Cambridge University since the early 17th century. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications¸ with some going back to 1906.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
The database includes full text of over 290 journals covering such topics as world religions¸ major denominations¸ biblical studies¸ religious history¸ epistemology¸ political philosophy¸ philosophy of language¸ moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Citation Searching
Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
