Research Guides: ENVE 7005 Chemical &amp; Environmental Engineering Graduate Seminar: Business, Market, Chemical Pricing, & Technical Standards Resources

Business and Market Information

Business and Market Research
Links to databases for researching companies and market data, including market research reports. Suggested resources: Factiva for business/company news searching and market research report databases (BCC, Plunkett)

Select the "Nexis Uni" option
HINT: search - (cost* or pric* or "chemical profile") along your chemical name(s)
- Example - styrene and (pric* or cost* or "chemical profile")

Sage Data : powered by Data Planet
(formerly Data-Planet Statistical Datasets) Wide variety of statistical and economic data, including some commodity pricing

Chemical Week
Includes a weekly Price Report. NOTE: UC's online access ceases as of mid-2012.

Other UC pricing sources with more restricted access:

Bloomberg terminals - current commodity pricing. Only available in College of Business Investment lab. Contact the Business Librarian, Maggie Patel, for access - details in linked guide.

Chemical Pricing Database (Texas A&M)
**Scroll to bottom to search** (Database (2015-2020) of citations for articles containing chemical pricing from Chemical Week and ICIS Chemical Business. Search by chemical name or CAS Registry number. You will need to locate the full-text article through other UC sources. Contact Ted Baldwin for help.
Other sources for bulk chemical pricing
Includes data sources for pricing (some only contain older costs) and Producer Price Index (PPI) for calculating current cost based on an old cost.
Market Research Reports
Provides a business-oriented perspective on an particular industry, including market and revenue forecasts, technological advances that impact the industry, profiles of companies involved, and sometimes a review of recent patents.
Suggested source: BCC

Technical & Engineering Standards
Online access to ASTM, IEEE, NFPA and more. Contact the library to request standards from AAMI, ASME, ANSI, CLSI, ISO, and other organizations.