Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
Compendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
Allows for sorting of results by # of times cited, linking to "Related Articles" (based on shared cited references)
SciFinder-N : Account Registration (First Time Users)First-time users sign up here. Register for your account using your UC.edu email address. SciFinder-N is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. The database searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference papers, technical reports, chemical property data.
Access is limited to registered UC users. SciFinder-N is the updated version of this chemistry research portal. It is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. SciFinder-N searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports and chemical substance databases. It also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), the PatentPak patent mapping tool, a predictive retrosynthesis planner, and added content for formulations and NMR spectra. Coverage: 1907 – present.
Describes many useful features of SciFinder-n for searching the scientific literature including citation mapping, patent searching, reactions, methods and chemical synthesis planning.
KnovelProvides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
TOXLINETOXLINE on this service offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology¸ including chemicals and pharmaceuticals¸ pesticides¸ environmental pollutants¸ and mutagens and teratogens. This database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles¸ monographs¸ technical reports¸ theses¸ letters¸ meeting abstracts¸ papers and reports. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine¸ information in the database is drawn from a number of discrete files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service¸ BIOSIS¸ or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; furthermore¸ it is a "rolling 5-year & database¸" consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year. Coverage: 1998 - present
Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture¸ ecosystem ecology¸ energy¸ natural resources¸ marine & freshwater science¸ geography¸ pollution & waste management¸ environmental technology¸ environmental law¸ public policy¸ social impacts¸ urban planning¸ and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from 1¸200 domestic and international journals¸ as well as 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline¸ and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
Scientific.NetIncludes full-text (2004-present) of materials science and engineering journals published by Trans Tech. Journal titles include: Advanced Materials Research, Applied Mechanics and Materials, Defect and Diffusion Forum, Journal of Biomimetics, Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Journal of Metastable and Nanocrystalline Materials, Journal of Nano Research, Materials Science Forum, and Nano Hybrids and Composites.
ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database supports materials science research with more than 40,300 binary and ternary alloy phase diagrams, each with their associated crystal and reaction data. Also includes all inorganic systems. This data can assist with materials troubleshooting, manufacturing control, and development of new materials.
Derwent Innovations Index indexes patents of chemical, electrical and mechanical inventions from 40 patent-issuing authorities worldwide. Users may search by topic, inventor, patent assignee, patent number, classification codes, as well as searching by cited patents, and by chemical compounds. Patent titles and abstracts are enhanced by Derwent patent experts for increased clarity and better topic searching.