Skip to Main Content
Law Reviews & Journals
Georgetown Immigration Law Journal (HeinOnline)
The Georgetown Immigration Law Journal is the only student-edited law journal devoted exclusively to the study of immigration law. The Journal publishes articles on timely issues by professors and practitioners, solicits reviews of recent books, coordinates symposia on important topics, and produces thoughtful student notes. Coverage begins in 1985.
Immigration and Nationality Law Review (HeinOnline)
In 1998, the INLR moved from the Western New England College of Law to its current home at the University of Cincinnati College of Law. The Review has substantially expanded to include student casenotes, comments, book reviews, and essays. Coverage begins in 1976.
International & Non-U.S. Law Journals (HeinOnline)
This is a sub collection of the HeinOnline Law Journal Library which contains journals on the subject of international law and journals published outside of the the U.S.
International Journal of Refugee Law (HeinOnline)
In addition to publishing original articles, the journal also features regular sections containing selected documents, case abstracts and comments, book reviews and annotated bibliographies of reports and other publications. Coverage begins in 1989.
Interpreter Releases (Westlaw)
Interpreter Releases provides weekly analysis of legislative, administrative, and judicial developments related to immigration law.
Journal of Refugee Studies (HeinOnline)
Journal of Refugee Studies provides a forum for exploration of the complex problems of forced migration and national, regional and international responses. The Journal covers all categories of forcibly displaced people. Contributions that develop theoretical understandings of forced migration, or advance knowledge of concepts, policies and practice are welcomed from both academics and practitioners. Coverage begins in 1988.
Treatises
H-1B Handbook (Fragomen, Shannon, Montalvo) (Westlaw)
H-1B Handbook, replaced annually, provides practical advice and forms essential for navigating the H-1B nonimmigrant visa approval process.
Immigration Law & Business (Fragomen, Shannon, & Montalvo) (Westlaw)
Through definitive guidance and a wide selection of sample forms, this database addresses the immigration concerns of corporations and other businesses. It provides in-depth coverage of immigration legislation and its impact upon immigration practice.
Immigration Law & Crimes (Kesselbrenner and Rosenberg) (Westlaw)
Immigration Law and Crimes, updated twice annually, examines the immigration consequences of criminal activity on non-citizens.
Immigration Law & Defense (Westlaw)
Immigration Law and Defense contains vital information and guidance needed to represent non-citizens under today's rapidly-changing immigration laws.
Immigration Law & the Family (Ignatius and Stickney) (Westlaw)
The initial chapters provide an overview, and then discuss in detail the process of filing and documenting a visa petition to obtain lawful permanent residence in the United States through a family relationship.
Immigration Law and Procedure (Gordon, Mailman, Yale-Loehr & Wada) (Lexis)
This comprehensive treatise covers the full breadth of immigration law including: the development of immigration law, an overview of immigration institutions, entry into the United States, immigrants and non-immigrants, and nationality and citizenship.
Immigration Law Practice Expediter (Mailman and Yale-Loehr) (Lexis)
The Expediter is a Practice Guide/Roadmap to all the main areas of immigration law. Written by treatise authors, Stanley Mailman and Stephen Yale-Loehr, the Expediter leads the user through visas and other immigration processes in a very practical way, while referencing and linking out to the treatise or primary source sections relevant to the particular task being performed by the user.
Immigration Law Service, 2d (Westlaw)
Immigration Law Service 2d, a multi-volume reference, provides a fresh, comprehensive, and current approach to today's immigration-related issues as well as hands-on guidance for tackling virtually any immigration or naturalization situation.
Immigration Procedures Handbook (Fragomen, Shannon, & Montalvo) (Westlaw)
Immigration Procedures Handbook, replaced annually, simplifies the process of preparing and presenting immigration petitions, forms, and applications.
J Visa Guidebook (Siskind, Stock, and Yale-Loehr) (Lexis)
The J Visa Guidebook is your one-stop resource for dealing with questions related to the exchange visitor non-immigrant visa program.
Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook: A Comprehensive Outline and Reference Tool
This sourcebook, published by the American Immigration Lawyers Association, provides interpretations of federal case law and administrative decisions related to a number of immigration issues. Agency rulings and other sources of primary law are also thoroughly discussed.
Steel on Immigration Law (Westlaw)
Steel on Immigration Law provides an analysis of immigration law and procedure. It discusses the basic structure of the immigration law, nonimmigrants, permanent resident status in general, family and employment-based immigration, refugees and asylees, grounds of inadmissibility, admission and exclusion procedures, removal grounds and procedures, citizenship and naturalization, and criminal and civil penalties for violations of immigration laws.
Congressional Research Services (CRS) Reports
Bloomberg Law
Search "crs report" in the main search box at the top of the screen and select Go.
Library of Congress CRS Reports
In 2018, Congress passed a law directing the creation of this site and ending the legal requirement prohibiting CRS from providing its products to the public.
Federation of American Scientists CRS Reports
The Federation of American Scientists endeavors to provide current, regularly updated public access to as many non-confidential CRS reports as possible. Coverage begins in 1996.
UNT Digital Library CRS Reports
This site aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990.
Manuals
Affirmative Asylum Procedures Manual
This manual provides information on how to process an affirmative asylum application within an Asylum Office.
Board of Immigration Appeals Practice Manual
The Practice Manual guides attorneys and representatives on practice
before the Board.
Foreign Affairs Manual & Handbook
The Foreign Affairs Manual (FAM) and associated Handbooks (FAHs) are a single, comprehensive, and authoritative source for the Department's organization structures, policies, and procedures that govern the operations of the State Department, the Foreign Service and, when applicable, other federal agencies. The FAM (generally policy) and the FAHs (generally procedures) together convey codified information to Department staff and contractors so they can carry out their responsibilities in accordance with statutory, executive and Department mandates.
Immigration Court Practice Manual
The Practice Manual has been assembled as a public service to parties appearing before the Immigration Courts.
Immigration Judge Benchbook
The benchbook is intended to assist judges in the adjudication of immigration cases
