Research Guides: Hematology Oncology Resources: Find Articles

Core Databases

Use core resources to find journal articles and links to full text. Total list of HSL databases.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3¸024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health¸ with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1¸160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals¸ plus legal cases¸ clinical innovations¸ critical paths¸ drug records¸ research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Coverage: 1937 - present
Cochrane Library (Wiley Online Library)
Wiley Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. It can be searched for a particular topic or disease and will return results on clinical trials, reviews, methods, studies, and clinical answers, and is suited for use as supplemental course materials at the undergraduate and graduate levels, for technology assessments and economic evaluations.
EMBASE
EMBASE (Excerpta Medica dataBASE) is a biomedical and pharmacological international database (1947 to present).
Coverage: 1966 - present
PsychiatryOnline
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V-TR®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.Also includes journals, textbooks, study guides, and clinical and research news from Psychiatric News, and more.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine. includes over 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present

Times Cited Resources:

To see how many times an author or article has been cited use Scopus or Web of Science (see links above). Look up journal impact factors in InCites: Journal Citation Reports (see link below).

Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports offers a systematic¸ objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals¸ with quantifiable¸ statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles - cited references¸ Journal Citation Reports helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels¸ and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.

Other Resources by Category

Multidisciplinary Resources

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
ProQuest Research Library
One of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system¸ Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas¸ including business¸ education¸ literature¸ political science¸ and psychology. The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.Coverage: 1971 - present
Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present

Biomedical and Genomic Information

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) resources (Free)

NCBI Databases and Tools
more...less...
Access NCBI biomedical and genomic literature and data, as well as software tools to analyze data, data software or data downloads and data submission information.
Search NCBI Databases
more...less...
Search across NCBI article based databases and biomedical and genomic data.

Clinical Trials / Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses @ University of Cincinnati (ProQuest)
Access to a body of well over 8¸000 University of Cincinnati electronic dissertations and theses¸ this is the best link to the broadest collection of electronic UC dissertations. The time period covers mainly from 1955 to the present. To acquire the dissertations electronically¸ users request the full text from UMI (ProQuest) and are sent a link and a password to access the dissertation. Dissertations from 1997 forward are available in the OhioLINK ETD at ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations)
Coverage:1955 - present
Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) Center (OhioLINK)
Electronic Thesis and Dissertations.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. Coverage: 1861 - present

Complementary and Alternative Medicine Resources

Alt-HealthWatch
Peer-reviewed journals¸ academic and professional publications¸ magazines¸ consumer newsletters and newspapers¸ research reports¸ and association newsletters focused on contemporary¸ alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Coverage: 1990 - present
Cochrane Library (Wiley Online Library)
Wiley Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. It can be searched for a particular topic or disease and will return results on clinical trials, reviews, methods, studies, and clinical answers, and is suited for use as supplemental course materials at the undergraduate and graduate levels, for technology assessments and economic evaluations.
Natural & Alternative Treatments - see Consumer Health Complete
Natural & Alternative Treatments is no longer a stand alone database - content is now in Consumer Health Complete. (April 2024) (More than 700 evidence-based articles covering medical conditions¸ alternative therapies¸ herbs and supplements¸ functional foods¸ drug interactions¸ and homeopathy.)
Natural Medicines
Natural Medicines provides high quality¸ evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs¸ vitamins¸ and minerals)¸ functional foods¸ diets¸ complementary practices (modalities)¸ exercises¸ and medical conditions

Times Cited Resources

Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports offers a systematic¸ objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals¸ with quantifiable¸ statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles - cited references¸ Journal Citation Reports helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels¸ and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present

Finding Full Text

Many databases available through UC provide links to the full text article. To find out if the full text is available from UC, look for the UC Article Linker icon or the browser extension icon

Resource not at UC?

Request articles or books using the online request system ILLiad.