Americans with Disabilities Act Handbook by
The Americans With Disabilities Act Handbook provides comprehensive coverage of the ADA's employment, commercial facilities, and public accommodations provisions as well as coverage of the transportation, communication, and federal, local, and state government requirements. In one comprehensive two-volume set, you'll get a complete analysis of the Act and all the forms and case law you'll need to prepare your case.
Disability Discrimination and the Workplace by
Overview of Federal Disability Discrimination Law -- The Rehabilitation Act of 1973 -- Americans with Disabilities Act: legislative history -- State disability discrimination laws -- Disabilities protected by the Americans with Disabilities Act -- Access and accommodation issues: Americans with Disabilities Act's Title III requirements on places of public accommodations and commercial facilities -- The Americans with disabilities Act and the hiring process -- Reasonable accommodation -- Interplay of related workplacestatutes -- Remedies, litigation strategies, and alternative dispute resolution
Understanding the New Disability and Genetic Discrimination Laws of 2008 by
The Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act (GINA) and the ADA will require employers to change their approach to applicants and employees with disabilities. Separate explanations of each law's provisions include expert analysis including the unique relationship between the ADA and GINA.
Employment Discrimination Law by
An overview -- Disparate treatment -- Disparate impact -- Application of disparate impact to employment decisions -- Failure to approve a reasonable accommodation -- Race and color -- National origin and citizenship -- Native Americans -- Religion -- Sex -- Sexual orientation and gender identity -- Age -- Disability -- Genetic information -- Retaliation -- Hiring -- Promotion, advancement, and reclassification -- Seniority -- Compensation -- Sexual and other forms of harassment -- Discharge and reduction in force -- Employers -- Unions -- Employment agencies -- Charging parties and plaintiffs -- EEOC administrative process -- Timeliness -- Jurisprudential bars to actions -- Title VII litigation procedure -- EEOC litigation -- Justice Department litigation -- Federal employee litigation -- Class actions -- Discovery -- Statistical and other expert proof -- The Civil Rights Acts of 1866 and 1871 -- The National Labor Relations Act -- "Reverse" discrimination and affirmative action -- Federal contractor affirmative action compliance -- Injunctive and affirmative relief -- Monetary relief -- Attorney's fees -- Alternative dispute resolution -- Settlement
Employment Discrimination Stories by
Like all the volumes in the Stories collection, this book provides students with a three-dimensional picture of the most important cases that are addressed in nearly every employment discrimination casebook and course. These stories give the students and faculty members a deeper understanding of the historical and cultural background of the cases and insight into their long-term impact on the development of employment discrimination law.
Wounds That Will Not Heal by
In Wounds That Will Not Heal political theorist Russell K. Nieli surveys some of the more important social science research on racial preference policies over the past two decades, much of which, he shows, undermines the central claims of preference policy supporters. The mere fact that preference policies have to be referred to through an elaborate system of euphemisms and code words-- "affirmative action," "diversity," "goals and timetables," "race sensitive admissions"-- tells us something, Nieli argues, about their widespread unpopularity, their tendency to reinforce negative stereotypes about their intended beneficiaries, and their incompatibility with core principles of American justice. Nieli concludes with an impassioned plea to refocus our public attention on the "truly disadvantaged" African American population in our nation's urban centers--the people for whom affirmative action policies were initially instituted but whose interests, Nieli charges, were soon forgotten as the fruits of the policies were hijacked by members of the black and Hispanic middle class.
Antigay Bias in Role-Model Occupations by
From the first game of the National League of Professional Baseball Clubs on April 22, 1876, tens of thousands of men have played professional sports in the Big Four--baseball, basketball, football, and hockey--major professional sports leagues in the United States. Until April 29, 2013, however, when National Basketball Association center Jason Collins came out publicly as gay, not one of those tens of thousands of men had ever come out to the public as gay while an active player on a major league roster. Is it because gay men can't jump (or throw, or catch, or skate)? Or is it more likely that the costs of coming out are too high? In Antigay Bias in Role-Model Occupations, E. Gary Spitko argues that in the case of athletes, and others in role-model occupations, a record of widespread and frequently systematic employment discrimination has been excluding gay people from the public social spaces that identify and teach whom society respects and whom members of society should seek to emulate. Creating a typology of role models--lawyers/judges, soldiers, teachers, politicians, athletes, and clergy--and the positive values and character traits associated with them, Spitko demonstrates how employment discrimination has been used for the purpose of perpetuating the generally accepted notion that gay people are inferior because they do not possess the requisite qualities--integrity, masculinity, morality, representativeness, all-American-ness, and blessedness--associated with employment in these occupations. Combining the inspirational stories of LGBT trailblazers with analysis of historical data, anecdotal evidence, research, and literature, Antigay Bias in Role-Model Occupations is the first book to explore in a comprehensive fashion the broad effects of sexual orientation discrimination in role-model occupations well beyond its individual victims.
Transgender Employment Experiences: Gendered Perceptions and the Law by
Brings together the workplace experiences of transgender people with an assessment of current policy protections.
Civil Rights in the Workplace by
For plaintiff and defense counsel, Civil Rights in the Workplace provides complete analysis of punitive damages, compensatory damages, jury trials, and changes in providing disparate treatment and disparate impact cases. It shows you how the 1991 Act has changed the way lawyers and their clients approach employment discrimination under Title VII, the Age Discrimination and Employment Act, the Reconstruction Era Civil Rights Act, and the ADA. You get the full text -- with insightful analysis -- of the controversial Supreme Court rulings that led to the creation of the 1991 Act. Civil Rights in the Workplace provides coverage of legislative and other developments and new case law, including: Explanation of EEOC regulations applying 2008 amendments to ADA New Supreme Court case on "cat's paw" theory New Supreme Court case extending Title VII retaliation claims to case in which adverse action was taken against fiancé New Supreme Court case on when maintenance of a policy with disparate impact falls within a statute of limitations New Supreme Court case allowing retaliation claims based on oral complaints New state case holding that arbitration agreement did not divest state agency of investigative power New case finding arbitration agreement to be unconscionable New case law on relationship between ADA and FMLA New case law on statistical comparisons in disparate impact cases New court of appeals decisions allowing harassment and retaliation actions on behalf of gay employees Analysis of case finding "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" policy to be unconstitutional and of subsequent repeal New case on sovereign immunity for state instrumentalities New court of appeals case agreeing that a Title VII was precluded by earlier Section 1983 action New case grappling with choice of law questions in international context.
The Developing Labor Law by
Topics covered include employer-mandated confidentiality agreements and arbitration agreements, employee handbook restrictions on employee activity alleged to be protected and concerted, the definition of critical terms such as 'supervisor' and 'independent contractor, ' the obligation of an employer to provide financial information requested by the union during bargaining, the rights of employees to object to payment of full union dues under a union-shop agreement, the obligation of an employee who is unlawfully discharged under the NLRA to seek interim employment, employer restrictions on the use of company email to discuss union activity, and the standards for determining what constitutes a joint employer relationship.
Employment Law by
Designed for use with any casebook, the Fifth Edition has been expanded and updated, including such new topics as social media and the Affordable Care Act, along with expert coverage of anti-discrimination laws, wage and hour law, ERISA, privacy in employment, OSHA, workers' compensation, restrictive covenants, wrongful discharge, unemployment compensation, and pensions.
Employment Law in a Nutshell by
This Nutshell provides an overview of individual employee rights and responsibilities. It addresses a number of areas, including establishing and ending the employment relationship, protection of employee privacy and reputation, discrimination, regulation of wages and hours, employee physical safety, fringe benefits, and employee duties of loyalty. This edition includes a substantially revised treatment of discrimination law, expanded discussion of employment-based health care, and takes into account a number of recent Supreme Court decisions and the use of executive orders. It further addresses how employment law directly impacts the modern economy, discussing how this area of the law effects on-demand workers in the technology sector.
Employment-at-will and Wrongful Discharge in Ohio by Employment in Ohio by
This single volume desktop reference provides basic information concerning the laws, regulations, and policies affecting labor and employment in Ohio. The book may be used in the development of a personnel policy and as a resource for answers to questions on employment law issues. It offers solid guidance on important new procedures and potential sources of liability and keeps you abreast of important regulations governing all aspects of the employer-employee relationship - from hiring to termination or retirement.
