Skip to Main Content
West Academic Study Aids
-
Concepts and Insights: The Law of Employment (West Academic)
This textbook is a one-volume treatment of the basic analytical structure and legal policy issues informing U.S. employment law. The full range of the subject matter is examined with chapters on defining who are employees (as opposed to independent contractors); employment contracts; employment torts; workplace privacy; post-termination restraints and workplace intellectual property issues; employee benefits; wage-hour laws; occupational safety; workers’ compensation; and unemployment compensation.
-
Employment Discrimination Law, Visions of Equality in Theory and Doctrine (West Academic)
This book provides an introduction to the field of employment discrimination law, both at the abstract level of theory and at the concrete level of doctrine. It is as much an introduction for experienced lawyers and scholars who come to this field with a thorough knowledge of other aspects of the law as for law students who have just begun preparing for their careers. The leading decisions of the Supreme Court receive a comprehensive analysis, in terms both of theory and doctrine, putting them in the context of the relevant statutory provisions and other judicial decisions. This book offers three different theoretical perspectives–based on history, economics, and critical social theory–to explain both the complexities and the tensions inherent in existing law.
-
Employment Discrimination Stories (West Academic)
Like all the volumes in the Stories collection, this book provides students with a three-dimensional picture of the most important cases that are addressed in nearly every employment discrimination casebook and course. These stories give the students and faculty members a deeper understanding of the historical and cultural background of the cases and insight into their long-term impact on the development of employment discrimination law.
-
Employment Law (West Academic)
Designed for use with any casebook, the Fifth Edition has been expanded and updated, including such new topics as social media and the Affordable Care Act, along with expert coverage of anti-discrimination laws, wage and hour law, ERISA, privacy in employment, OSHA, workers’ compensation, restrictive covenants, wrongful discharge, unemployment compensation, and pensions.
-
Employment Law in a Nutshell (West Academic)
This Nutshell provides an overview of individual employee rights and responsibilities. It addresses a number of areas, including establishing and ending the employment relationship, protection of employee privacy and reputation, discrimination, regulation of wages and hours, employee physical safety, fringe benefits, and employee duties of loyalty. This edition includes a substantially revised treatment of discrimination law, expanded discussion of employment-based health care, and takes into account a number of recent Supreme Court decisions and the use of executive orders. It further addresses how employment law directly impacts the modern economy, discussing how this area of the law effects on-demand workers in the technology sector.
-
Employment Law Stories (West Academic)
Employment law is emerging as an important practice area. This title provides behind-the-scenes descriptions of the landmark cases; the litigants, the lawyers, the strategy; that helped shape this growing field. This account of emerging law is designed to help the student understand that, well before appellate judges are involved, the basic narrative and the doctrinal and policy potential of the case have been set by the decisions of litigants and their representatives. Several chapters are also devoted to the story behind some of the principal statutes in the area.
-
Federal Law of Employment Discrimination in a Nutshell (West Academic)
This text is designed to assist students -- both law and undergraduate -- to achieve a basic understanding of this complex area of the law, and provide an up to date review for the practitioner. The focus is upon Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (race, national origin, sex, and religious discrimination), the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, and the Americans with Disabilities Act as applied to the workplace. The book addresses the method of proving violations, both disparate treatment and disparate impact analysis, including a brief primer of statistical proof, as well as the defenses to the express use of proscribed classifications. Finally, the book provides a quick reference to the complex procedural and remedial provisions of the statutes.
-
Gilbert Law Summaries on Labor Law (West Academic)
The topics covered in this Labor Law summary are statutory foundations of present labor law (including National Labor Relations Act (NLRA), Taft-Hartley, Norris-LaGuardia Act, and Landrum-Griffin Act), organizing campaigns, selection of the bargaining representative, collective bargaining (including negotiating the agreement, lockouts, administering the agreement, grievances and arbitration), strikes, boycotts, and picketing. Other topics include concerted activity protected under the NLRA addressing newer issues regarding email solicitations and employer policy and work rules violations, "right to work" laws, discipline of union members, election of union officers, and corruption.
-
Global Issues in Employment Discrimination Law (West Academic)
This casebook emphasizes primary materials (statutes, European Union directives, regulations, guidelines, and cases) that have been edited to facilitate classroom discussion. Accessible to both professors and law students, the primary material is enhanced by brief notes and questions. The book can be assigned or recommended as optional reading to supplement a domestic-only employment discrimination law course, or serve as the basis of a stand-alone seminar, to advance the students' understanding of their own system and the kinds of issues they will face in an era of globalization.
-
Global Issues in Labor Law (West Academic)
This book emphasizes primary materials such as statutes, proposed guest worker legislation, International Labour Organization conventions, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development guidelines, company codes of conduct, World Trade Organization rulings, AFL-CIO complaints, European Union directives, and Alien Tort Claims Act decisions. The materials have been carefully edited to facilitate classroom discussion and further student research.
-
Labor and Employment Arbitration in a Nutshell (West Academic)
Labor and employment arbitration law simplified. Authoritative coverage provides a description of the origin, development, and practice of labor and employment arbitration. Text focuses on the fundamentals of the labor and employment arbitration process and explores the major arbitration law issues, their importance, and the conflicting opinions on them.
-
Labor Law (West Academic)
Appreciating the challenges the system faces in an era of declining unionization rates in private firms and rising competitive forces in labor markets, this one-volume, concise treatise gives students an appreciation of the analytical structure of the law that governs how employees can form workplace organizations and bargain over the terms and conditions of employment. New forms of labor organizing, such as the corporate campaign, card check/neutrality agreements, and worker centers are highlighted. The book is designed to complement leading labor law case books, including discussion of principal decisions featured in those texts, as well as providing both a policy and practical context for what remains a dynamic area of law and social justice.
-
Labor Law in a Nutshell (West Academic)
This comprehensive guide reviews the early regulations set up to guide employee-employer relations and provides a snapshot of the structure and procedures of the modern-day National Labor Relations Board (NLRB). Expert commentary offers insight into primary legal issues such as picketing, employer responses, and the duty to bargain.
-
Labor Law Stories: An In-Depth Look at Leading Labor Law Cases (West Academic)
This book tells the story of the development of labor law over the course of nearly seventy years - beginning with Mackay Radio, one of the earliest cases under the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA), and ending with Hoffman Plastic, one of the most recent. It includes cases from the major topics in a basic or advanced course on Labor Law, describing not only the doctrinal evolution of law under the NLRA, but also the impact of the law on the lives of the people involved. The authors interviewed dozens of participants in the fourteen cases addressed in the book.
-
Principles of Employment Discrimination Law (West Academic)
This Concise Hornbook explains the intricate doctrines and frameworks of proof that courts have developed in interpreting federal employment discrimination statutes. It provides in-depth treatment of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA) and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Designed for use by law students, scholars, and practitioners, the book identifies the critical elements of disparate treatment and disparate impact theory and proof requirements for claims of harassment and retaliation. Separate sections address distinctive issues relating to race, national origin, and religious discrimination as well as pregnancy and caregiver discrimination, pay equity suits and discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity. The book examines U.S. Supreme Court precedents and developments and trends in the lower courts.
-
Principles of Employment Law (West Academic)
This book provides a comprehensive overview of employment law and is a useful supplement to any employment law casebook. The book is divided into seven chapters. Chapter 1 examines who is an employee and who is an employer. Chapter 2 analyzes the employment-at-will doctrine and job security claims. Chapter 3 focuses on privacy, autonomy and dignity. Chapter 4 analyzes claims that employers may have against employees. Chapter 5 discusses employment terms and benefits that are directly mandated by law, like minimum wage, or strongly encouraged or regulated by law, such as pensions. Chapter 6 examines workplace health and safety. Finally, Chapter 7 discusses the expanding role of arbitration in the resolution of employment disputes.
Lexis OverDrive Study Aids
-
Mastering Employment Discrimination Law (Lexis OverDrive)
The book begins first with coverage and jurisdiction issues surrounding employment discrimination law. It then turns to federal and state procedural topics surrounding the filing of administrative charges of discrimination and civil lawsuits. Finally, the book addresses comprehensively the substantive aspects of Title VII, ADEA, ADA (including the new ADAAA), Equal Pay Act, and the Civil Rights Acts, covering topics such as disparate treatment discrimination (including single- and mixed-motive claims, as well as the BFOQ defense), disparate impact discrimination, and related issues, such as remedies, attorney fees, and settlements.
-
Mastering Labor Law (Lexis OverDrive)
The book begins with an introduction to private and public sector labor law. It then turns to United States labor history and procedure, organization, and jurisdiction issues under the National Labor Relations Act. The book then comprehensively addresses the organizational and collective bargaining processes, before covering forms of protected activity. It closes by considering other topics such as labor arbitration, union security clause, labor preemption, and antitrust doctrine.
-
Understanding Disability Law (Lexis OverDrive)
Understanding Disability Law discusses important statutory and constitutional issues relating to disability discrimination. Understanding Disability Law includes detailed coverage of:
• Constitutional law bearing on disability discrimination;
• The controversy over who is a person with a disability for purposes of federal statutes;
• Employment discrimination rights and remedies;
• Educational discrimination, including special education law and higher education for students with disabilities;
• Discrimination in public accommodations;
• Discrimination by federal, state, and local governments; and
• Other topics, including disability discrimination related to housing, transportation, and telecommunications.
-
Understanding Employment Discrimination Law (Lexis OverDrive)
Employment discrimination law is like a huge jigsaw puzzle—albeit one with many missing and mismatched pieces, which are constantly being changed. The purpose of Understanding Employment Discrimination Law is to clarify the differences, uncertainty, and complexity of employment discrimination law. The Second Edition deals with all the watershed Supreme Court decisions since 2002 and otherwise expands and updates the coverage of the prior edition.
-
Understanding Labor Law (Lexis OverDrive)
This Understanding treatise examines the multifaceted and complex law of private-sector Labor Law. Because Understanding Labor Law focuses on relations between management and labor in the private sector, it deals primarily with the National Labor Relations Act, as amended, and its interpretation and application by the federal courts and the National Labor Relations Board. The book is organized in a format that is consistent with the organization of most Labor Law courses. At the end of each chapter is a section titled "Chapter Highlights," summarizing some of the major doctrines discussed in the chapter.
Aspen Study Aids
-
Examples & Explanations for Employment Discrimination, Fourth Edition (Aspen)
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
CALI Lessons
-
Bottom Line Defense (CALI Lesson)
This exercise is designed to introduce the student to the "bottom line" defense rejected by the Supreme Court in Connecticut v. Teal. The exercise explores the circumstances of disparate impact claims and affirmative action programs under which the "bottom line" defense usually arises and the arguments involved. The use of "bottom line" evidence, sometimes used in disparate treatment litigation, is also explained and distinguished. Some understanding of basic discrimination theory (disparate treatment and disparate impact) is helpful in understanding the lesson.
-
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (CALI Lesson)
This lesson provides students with an overview of the Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Although the lesson does not assume any prior knowledge of the statute, it is nonetheless useful to test more advanced students' knowledge.
The lesson consists of five sections: 1) the scope of Title VII; 2) administrative prerequisites to private enforcement; 3) the protected classes; 4) the order and allocation of proof; and, 5) judicial relief. Each section uses varied question types to test the student's understanding. To ground the student's learning in legal authority, all answers are supported by references to statutory provisions and case law.
