Research Guides: College of Medicine Resources: Home

Subject Specific CoM Libguides

Did you know that there are more discipline specific libguides available?

Get Library Help

Need help? Use the buttons to access information on frequently asked questions.

Ask a Question

Library Workshops

Request Articles/Books

How To Tutorials

Accessing Library Resources FAQs

Need help accessing library resources? Running into problems? Check out our access FAQs:

Online Access FAQs

Quick Links

Leo

PubMed

DynaMed Plus

NetAnatomy

Bate's Visual

Exam Prep Resources

ExamMaster
BoardVitals Shelf Exam Practice (Registered Users)
Log in to use BoardVitals
BoardVitals Shelf Exam Practice (Registration Required)
Register to practice for the Shelf Exams

Key Resources

PubMed
PubMed¸ a service of the National Library of Medicine¸ includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Coverage: 1950's - present
Cochrane Library (Wiley Online Library)
Wiley Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. It can be searched for a particular topic or disease and will return results on clinical trials, reviews, methods, studies, and clinical answers, and is suited for use as supplemental course materials at the undergraduate and graduate levels, for technology assessments and economic evaluations.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
DynaMed Plus
Go to DynaMed Plus™ for answers to clinical questions. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.

DynaMed Plus Mobile

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination includes more than 8 hours of video content that provides head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Note: OSCE Clinical Skills Videos not included in this subscription. Access is available via computer, smartphone, or tablet device. Browser compatibility includes Windows PC: IE 9, Firefox (latest version), Chrome (latest version). Mac: Safari (latest version), Firefox (latest version). Android and IOS devices: latest version of native browser.
NOTE: Access limited to authorized UC Medical Center users
EMBASE
EMBASE (Excerpta Medica dataBASE) is a biomedical and pharmacological international database (1947 to present).
Coverage: 1966 - present

Writing, Citing & Presentation Resources

Poster Printing
A poster printer is located in the Health Sciences Library and available to UC College of Medicine graduate students, postdoctoral scholars and undergraduate summer program students only. Learn more about costs, templates, and how to schedule.
Citation Management Software
Learn about several citation manager options RefWorks, EndNote, and Zotero.
Ethics and Copyright (Online Guide for Students)

Multi-Format Resources

These multi-format resources each include journals, books and other formats. In addition to journals and books, ClinicalKey includes drug monographs, guidelines, patient education, clinical overviews, multimedia, and procedure descriptions in eight specialties. While SpringerLink includes series, protocols, reference works, and conference proceedings.

ClinicalKey This collection includes medical books, textbooks current journals, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Clinical Pharmacology. CME credits via the Cleveland Clinic. This resource is specifically designed to support physicians in evidence-based clinical care and clinical education, and also supports researchers and instructors with an included presentation builder for use with images and videos. To access ClinicalKey from off campus you must set up a personal account. To do this from off campus: 1. Login to the vpn (https://www.uc.edu/about/ucit/get-connected/vpn.html) 2. Once logged in, navigate to ClinicalKey (http://www.clinicalkey.com/) 3. At the top right, click on register, and create an account w/ your UC email 4. Login to the account. 5. Once logged in click on your username at the top right, and then select Remote Access 6. Enter your UC email and select ok. A confirmation email will be sent to your UC email. 7. Navigate to this email and activate remote access. In future sessions, login to your account to access the ClinicalKey resources remotely. If you are on campus, you can navigate to ClinicalKey without logging into the VPN.

SpringerLink
Multi-format and multi-disciplinary. Browse by discipline or search for your topic.