Research Guides: Chemistry: Find Articles &amp; Journals

Chemistry Databases

SciFinder

SciFinder: Account Registration (First Time Users)
First-time users sign up and register for a SciFinder-N account using your UC email address. Registered SciFinder-N account users can access this extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. The database searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference papers, technical reports, chemical property data.
SciFinder (Registered Users)
Registered SciFinder-N account users can access this extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. The database searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference papers, technical reports, chemical property data.

Training & Tutorials - Scifinder-N (new version)
Includes recorded trainings on literature, citation, structure, substructure, reaction, patent and biosequence searching.
SciFinder-n release notes
Latest updates on SciFinder - interface changes, new content, etc.
SciFinder Workshop Libguide
Slides, tutorials, and registration info for library SciFinder workshops

Reaxys

Reaxys
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Combined data from three sources: The Beilstein Database, The Gmelin Database, and The Patent Chemistry Database.

Reaxys Help
For more information and tutorials.
Reaxys Workshop Libguide
Slides, tutorials, and registration info for library Reaxys workshops

Tools for locating full-text

Find Article Full-Text

When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon (or "Find Full Text" link in Google Scholar)
- From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online. Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
- If not online or in print, submit an Interlibrary Loan (also called ILLiad) request. ILLiad may automatically fill the request form with your journal article's details. NOTE: First time ILLiad users may need to complete a contact profile.
Use Full Text Journals to search by journal title and locate databases containing full-text.
Search by journal title in the Library Catalog for print and some (not all) electronic access options.

Google Scholar - Register your UC Libraries access

Tell Google Scholar you are with UC so that search results provide links to UC-licensed full-text. Access is indicated with a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.

Go to Google Scholar
Sign in to your Google account (or create one if needed)
Click the icon in the upper left and select “Settings”
Click on “Library Links”
Search for "University of Cincinnati."
Check the box next to "University of Cincinnati – Find Full-Text at UC” and click “Save”

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com. After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution. More details: thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/

When full-text is available, a "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left corner. NOTE: You need to be on the article’s individual page (vs. a database search results page) to trigger this prompt. Try it out with this example from International Journal of Science Education https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Click the "Download PDF" prompt. You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login. Nomad will track down the article PDF or direct you to other options for full-text as needed.

Browzine for Keeping Up with Journals

Browzine
Browse UC journals by subject or journal title, and read the articles full-text. Build and organize your private collection of journals for review on a frequent basis, and download the BrowZine APP to sync all of your devices. For a more complete description see: https://guides.libraries.uc.edu/gradstudents/current#s-lg-box-wrapper-29035360.
Help for BrowZine users

Other Science Databases

Other science and engineering databases to broaden your search for the literature of chemistry.

Web of Science
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Scopus is an indexing and citation database for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus includes conference proceedings, trade publications, and references added to all abstracts; results from 250 million scientific web pages, and patent records from 4 patent offices. H-index values for authors are also available. Coverage: 1966 - present.
Compendex
An engineering-focused database that includes journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and preprints. Content is sourced from publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM.

NCBI & other Bioinformatics Databases
Listing of databases containins biomedical and genomic information and data.

PubMed
PubMed is a free database, provided by the National Library of Medicine, for accessing the MEDLINE database of biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, and PubMed covers fields related to medicine, such as nursing and other allied health disciplines. It also provides excellent coverage of the related biomedical sciences, including biochemistry and cell biology. Note: SciFinder searches both Chemical Abstracts and the MEDLINE database. Coverage: 1950 - present.
BIOSIS Previews (access through Web of Science)
BIOSIS Previews, a leading source of life sciences information, collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. BIOSIS Previews contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5,500 life science journals, 1,500 international meetings, as well as review articles, books, and monographs are monitored for inclusion, representing virtually every life science discipline. Coverage: 1969 - present.

Journal Publisher Portals

ACS Publications (UC access)
UC subscribes to all ACS journals and C&E News.
AIP Journals
UC subscribes to all journals.
Cambridge Core - Journals
UC subscribes to a subset of Cambridge Journals.
Elsevier (ScienceDirect) Journals
UC subscribes to a subset of Elsevier journals.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
UC subscribes to a subset of RSC Journals.
Nature Journals
UC subscribes to a subset of Nature Journals. Our access includes Nature, Nature Chemical Biology, Nature Chemistry, Nature Materials and more.
Science Journal (AAAS)
UC subscribes to Science, Science Advances, Science Signaling and Science Translational Medicine.
Springer journals
UC subscribes to a subset of Springer journals.
Taylor & Francis Journals
UC subscribes to a subset of T&F journals.
Thieme Chemistry Journals
UC subscribes to Synlett and Synthesis.
Wiley Journals Online
UC subscribes to most Wiley journals.

Find Full-text for other journals
Search by journal title to find options for accessing other journals