Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series¸ which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series¸ totaling more than 217 volumes¸ 12¸000 entries¸ and nearly 17¸000 images - that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
The database combines the complete content of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated with the complete and enhanced content of Biography Index Plus. Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated contains more than 95¸000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26¸000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text¸ abstracts¸ and citations from H. W. Wilson databases. Biography Index Plus is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson Company databases and additional selected periodicals¸ current books of individual and collective biography¸ and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books.
Biography in Context provides research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. It is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that is updated daily to meet the needs of today's user. It includes: 600¸000+ biographies covering more than 525¸000 individuals¸ 50¸000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events¸ integrated reference material¸ periodical information and multimedia content¸ plus hundreds of hand-crafted topic pages covering the highest-interest features.