Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Children's and Young Adult Literature

Your CECH Library guide to support the study of children's and young adult literature.

The Kretschmer Collection of Native American Children's Literature

CECH Library is home to the Kretschmer Collection, a collection of over 275 books about indigenous cultures written and/or illustrated by Native American authors and artists. Collected by Professors Emeriti Richard and Laura Kretschmer, these books were donated to CECH Library so that many could benefit from their powerful messages and thought-provoking stories. 

The collection, with its range of subjects and levels, serves to encourage learning about Native American cultures. Themes present in these books include language, family, nature, folklore, prehistory, and resilience.

You can explore the many brilliant books of the Kretschmer Collection on the third floor of the CECH Library, located in the Teachers-Dyer Complex 300.

Description adapted from a blog post by Sara Polk, Former CECH Library Student Assistant | A&S Anthropology & Archaeology, 2020

Explore the Collection

                                                                 Explore the Kretschmer Collection

Click the button above to view a complete listing of titles in the Kretschmer Collection of Native American Children's Literature, or view them at the following link: https://bit.ly/3liMmXj

New Titles

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati