Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Citing Your Sources

What are citation & reference management tools

These tools may be either software packages or Internet based services that provide you with the capability to electronically collect bibliographic resources, including full text, from hundreds of databases.  These tools enable you to manage, organize and edit this data and integrate the resources into your manuscript as in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies. Citation & reference management tools offer most of the following features:

  • Electronic collection of bibliographic resources from most commercial research literature databases, e.g. Art Abstracts, BIOSIS,  ERIC, MLA, PsycINFO, etc.
  • Electronic collection of bibliographic resources from most public catalogs, e.g. NLM (PubMed),  LC, OhioLINK, UCLID, etc.
  • Creation of formatted (all major styles) bibliographies, footnotes and in-text citations
  • Convenient linking to full-text resources saved on a PC or on the Internet
  • Management and organization of bibliographic resources in one or multiple databases
  • Detection and management of duplicate bibliographic resources
  • Browsing and searching of your own bibliographic databases (Keeping found things "found")
  • Sharing of electronically collected resources, often including attachments

UC Libraries provides support for the following two citation & reference management tools: EndNote and RefWorks.  Use the Navigation Bar on the left to access the UC Libraries' EndNote or RefWorks guides.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati