The late local historian Charles E. Frohman of Sandusky, Ohio, collected more than 14,000 historic photographs documenting Lake Erie’s Western Basin, its shoreline communities,and the Erie Islands. The collection includes images that date from before the Civil War and span nearly one hundred years. From ice harvesting and railroads to early aviation and island leisure activities, these historic photographs richly depict the everyday lives and activities of Lake Erie's southern shoreline residents. They provide a record of communities in transition as old methods gave way to advances in industry and technology.
Library of Congress bring the world’s largest collection of knowledge, culture, and creativity to life through dynamic displays of artifacts enhanced by interactivity. Examine rare and unique items, including the rough draft of the Declaration of Independence, the Gutenberg Bible, the 1507 Waldseemüller map that first named America, and many more.
Sanborn Historic Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. These maps are heavily used in both public and academic libraries by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns and cities, and environmentalists concerned about impact of new developments.
High resolution scans of works of art by Cleveland artists, commissioned under the Works Progress Administration. The WPA was the largest New Deal program and provided jobs and income to the unemployed during the Great Depression. It built many public buildings and roads, and as well operated a large arts project.
Faces and Places is the historic photo album of the Kenton County Public Library. It was begun in March 2006 with the library's archive of 20,000 photographs. In 2008 the Kentucky Post closed and donated their photo archive to the library which were added to the collection. It also contains photographs and collections that have been shared from the community.