EECE 7002: Electrical & Computer Engineering Graduate Seminar

• CEAS Library website: libraries.uc.edu/ceas
  • Mark Chalmers - Your librarian for CEAS (AEEM, CAECM, ME/MET, Fire Science) and A&S Math & Physics
  • Aja Bettencourt-McCarthy - Your librarian for CEAS (Elect&Comp, Mech&Materials, IECE, & Global Programs)
  • Ted Baldwin - Your librarian for CEAS (BME, ChE, EnvE) and A&S Chemistry & Biology
  • 8th floor Baldwin Hall 
• Graduate Student's Guide to Library Resources: https://guides.libraries.uc.edu/gradstudents 

• Current workshops - can include: Python, R, LaTeX, GitHub, data management, citation managers (e.g., RefWorks)

Start with a keyword search, then refine by subject or other facets later. 

Building a search query:

• Create a search set of synonyms (use "OR" operator) for a concept
• Combine search sets for concepts with "AND" operator
• use quote marks " " to identify a phrase
• Use truncation and wild cards to expand based on a word stem (e.g., nano* )

Narrow your results:

• Examine search result record to see what subjects have been assigned (if any) to the record. Subjects can be combined with keywords to focus search, or searched individually to find items that are primarily about the topic.
• Use refine or limit features such as date, material type (e.g., review article), treatment (in Compendex - theoretical, applied, etc).

Citation searching

• Expand to related articles with shared citations (Scopus)
• Use citation searching and browsing features, including sorting by # of times cited (Scopus, SciFinder, Google Scholar, etc)

Find Article Full-Text

• When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon (or "Find Full Text" link in Google Scholar)
  • From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online. Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
  • If not online or in print, submit an Interlibrary Loan (also called ILLiad) request.  ILLiad may automatically fill the request form with your journal article's details.  NOTE: First time ILLiad users may need to complete a contact profile.
• Use Full Text Journals to search by journal title and locate databases containing full-text.
• Search by journal title in the Library Catalog for print and some (not all) electronic access options.

Google Scholar - Register your UC Libraries access

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com.  After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution.  More details: thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/

When full-text is available, a "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left corner.  NOTE: You need to be on the article’s individual page (vs. a database search results page) to trigger this prompt.  Try it out with this example from International Journal of Science Education  https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Click the "Download PDF" prompt.  You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login.  Nomad will track down the article PDF or direct you to other options for full-text as needed.

• Research & Data Services website

• Data Management Planning Guide

Contact: Amy Koshoffer, Assistant Director, Research & Data Services: amy.koshoffer@uc.edu

Other tools and services for researchers

• Data & GIS Collab (GMP Library), 240 Braunstein Hall - large dual monitors, collaboration space, consulting on data and geospatial analysis
• Visualization Laboratory (GMP Library), 240 Braunstein Hall - large wall for collaboration & multi-input projection, consultation on data visualization
• Contact AskData@uc.edu for data, informatics, GIS project consultation, reserving lab space
• OneDrive - (access through Office 365 - https://mail.uc.edu) (storage and backup - more info) 
• Scholar@UC (data archiving, DOI/permanent URL)

• Informationist Services

  Contact AskData@uc.edu for assistance.

• Open Science Framework

  Electronic lab notebook & project management system - http://osf.uc.edu

• ORCID researcher ID tool

  Create your unique researcher "social security number"

Return to CEAS Library
Return to CEAS Library Subject Guides