Research Guides: English: Articles and Databases

Core Databases

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages¸ literatures¸ folklore¸ and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45¸000 books and articles.
Gale Literature - LitFinder
This database integrates various literature resources from Gale into a single research environment: Something about the author online -- Twayne's authors online: U.S. authors series classics -- Twayne's authors online: world authors series classics -- Twayne's authors online: English authors series classics -- Twayne's authors online: masterworks series -- Twayne's authors online: short fiction series -- Twayne's authors online: U.S. authors¸ world authors and British authors -- Scribner writers online: British writers collection -- Scribner writers online: world and writers collection -- Scribner writers online: American writers collection -- Scribner writers online: European writers collection -- Literature criticism online -- LitFinder -- LitFinder for schools -- Literature resource center -- Dictionary of literary biography
Literature Resource Center - LRC
Includes Gales Contemporary Authors Online (biographical coverage of more than 109¸000 writer); Contemporary Literary Criticism Select¸ (entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95); and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (more than 10¸000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars). The database also includes selected full-text¸ excerpted¸ and commissioned critical material from Gale's respected Literature Criticism and For Students Series.

Additional Recommended Databases

Given the multidisciplinary perspectives from which literature can be approached, the following list represents only those resources centered for the most part on literary study. Others, such as Historical Abstracts, Women's Studies International or PsycINFO may be just as relevant depending on the specific subject. Searching the Library Catalog and Databases will identify or provide access to far more of these resources than can be listed here.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1¸100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals¸ as well as covering individually selected¸ relevant items from over 6¸800 major science and social science journals.
Coverage: 1980 - present
Communication & Mass Media Complete
This product began as the merger of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch provided citation indexing of 32 journals in communication studies¸ with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation indexing of over 60 research journals¸ as well as major journalism reviews¸ recent encyclopedias¸ and handbooks in the area of communications studies. The combined product incorporates full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.
Coverage: 1915 - present
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete is a comprehensive database of humanities content¸ providing full text of hundreds of journals¸ books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing)¸ this database includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index (over 1.6 million records) plus unique full text content.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
An interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages¸ covering Europe¸ the Middle East and North Africa from 300-1500. The database comprises over 300¸000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4¸500 periodicals and 5¸000 other volumes (conference proceedings¸ essay collections¸ Festschriften and exhibition catalogs). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details¸ subject classifications¸ and indexing familiar to medievalists. Updated quarterly. Click on the blue box that says "Enter databases". A new screen will appear with International Medieval Bibiliography at the top. Click in the new blue box that says "Go".
Coverage: 300-1500
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world
Project MUSE
Access to articles from over 40 journals in the humanities starting in 1995. Coverage: Full Text; 1995 - present

Find a Known Article (If You Have a Citation)

You may already have a citation for an article from your professor's recommendation or another source. This is how you would locate the article.

Method 1

On the UC Libraries page paste your article title in the red search box. If this is an exact title enclose it in quotation marks to avoid irrelevant hits.

If the title is short and/or common, add the author's name and/or journal title.

Summon, our metasearch tool, will return results with links to online full text.

You can also use advanced Summon search.

Method 2

On the UC Libraries page click the Journals tab in the red search box. Alternatively you can use the search box on the Journals page of this guide. E-Journals advanced search page.
Type in as much of the journal title as you want.
(Please note: this search option is for JOURNAL titles, not articles titles)!
Click "Search." The result will indicate which database/index to search for full text. Check the dates carefully to make sure the year you need is available electronically.

If an electronic version of the journal title or the desired issues it is not available electronically, you must then search the Library Catalog for a print issue. On the library record screen for the journal title note the location and call number of the journal. Please note that current issues are often found in a different location than bound journals.

Method 3.

Use the "Citation Linker" form. You need to provide as much information as possible. Go to UC Article Linker FAQ for more information.