Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

English and Comparative Literature

Electronic resources

 

UC Libraries English literature databases offer a variety  of digital resources, organized by format, genre, and type such as indexes,  biographical resources.  Please explore.  If you have any questions or comments, please contact Rosemary Franklin rosemary.franklin@uc.edu

 

African Writers Series   Heinemann’s African Writers Series. 

American Periodical Series Includes over 1,000 periodicals and 7,000,000 pages of full text periodicals covering the years 1740 to 1943.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index  Not full-text, but rather a citation database that cross-references works cited by other scholars; allows large groupings of subject area scholars and scholarship to be located. Can be searched by topic.

British Humanities Index  Covers a broad range of literature, language, political science, philosophy topics,  from 1962-current.

Early American Imprints (Evans)  Major source for books printed in the early days of the colony, 1638 through 1800.

Early English Books Online  Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 through 1700.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online The Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century.

Eighteenth Century Fiction Full text of 96 works of prose fiction written in the British Isles.

Humanities International Complete  full text humanities content

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism   Compiles a wide range of theory, spanning the writings of Aristotle to Bakhtin, with full-text access.

JSTOR  Full-text journal database

Literary Reference Center  fulltext database includes articles, biographicalthat combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and  includes poetry and short stories.

LitFinder  References sources where poems and short stories can be located in collections, anthologies; limited full-text.

Literature Online (LION) Full-text collection of primary and secondary works; includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and the Bibliography of American Literature.  Primary works are those data bases contained in OhioLINK

Literature Resource Center  Covers the periodical literature from the nineteenth and twentieth-century; useful for tracing the critical reception of a work or author.  Includes material from Contemporary authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography.

MLA International Bibliography  A major research tool for the study of modern languages/literatures, folklore and linguistics and indexes articles, monographs, chapters in books, and dissertations (mainly American). Covers all the major languages of the world.  From 1963. 

OhioLINK Databases Contains numerous full-text suites of works organized by genre

Project Muse  Full text articles found in current humanities and literature journals.

Reader's Guide Retrospective  American periodical literature published 1890 through 1982

Victorian Database Online Covers books, articles, editions, and dissertations published from 1970 to 1999 on all fields of British studies for the nineteenth-century.

Short Story Index 

World Shakespeare Bibliography  Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1967 and late 2003.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati