Research Guides: Music Education: Books

CECH Teacher Handbooks

Teacher handbooks contain teaching and learning activity ideas and lesson plans and are organized by subject.

The CECH Library has an extensive collection of teaching activities books called teacher handbooks. These books are shelved in the Teacher Handbook section on the 3rd floor of the CECH Library and are arranged so that all books for a given curriculum area are shelved together.

To search for a book about music for children (such as a storybook or an informational, non-fiction book):

Visit the UC Library Catalog or enter your search in the box below
Combine your topic with "cech child-ya" in the search box -- it is important to include quotation marks
- Topic ideas: musical instruments, songs, folk songs, children's songs, jazz, singing, musician
- Complete listing of CECH children's books with music as a subject or theme
- Complete listing of CECH Teacher Handbooks on music

Specialized E-Book Databases

Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text¸ aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. The content is enriched with images¸ sound files¸ maps and customizable data tables.
Coverage: varies
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is a new gateway that offers users the ability¸ for the first time ever¸ to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online¸ Grove Music Online¸ has been completely redesigned with a number of functional enhancements and new content.
Oxford Reference Online
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine¸ and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.