Research Guides: Music Education: Online Teaching Activities and Lesson Plans

Music Online Teaching Activities & Lesson Plans

The Kennedy Center Digital Resources
A robust collection of hundreds of digital learning resources: lessons, articles, performance guides, how-tos and more. No account required.
Lesson Plans and Activities from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
Must create a a free account.
Lessons and Activities from the Kennedy Center
Arts-centered, standards-based resources for in and out of school. No account required.
Music Class Activities for Elementary Grades from Frau Musik USA
No account required.
Music Lessons and Activities from PBS Learning Media
Encourage students to perform, analyze, and appreciate Music with resources that explore music from various time periods and cultures. No account required.
Music Tech Teacher
No account required.
Nine Teaching Ideas for Using Music to Inspire Student Writing
Nine exercises to use music to inspire student writing from New York Times. No account required.
World Music Lessons from Smithsonian Folkways
Browse the map to find world music curricular experiences from Smithsonian Folkways’ Network of Music Educators. No account required; free account optional.

Anti-Racism and Social Justice Online Teaching Activities & Lesson Plans

Anti-Defamation League Lesson Plans
Our collection of K-12 classroom blended and online learning solutions for educators and students promotes critical thinking and learning around historical and current events topics through the lens of diversity, bias and social justice.
Classroom Resources from Learning for Justice
Classroom resources and lesson plans on social justice and anti-bias topics. Formerly titled Teaching Tolerance.
Human Rights Educators USA Lesson Plans on Racism
Activites, lesson plans, and curricula on racism from Human Rights Educators USA.
Teaching for Change Teaching Resources
Lesson plans, activities, articles, recommended resources and more from Teaching for Change: Building Social Justice Starting in the Classroom.
Learning for Justice Anti-Racism Lesson Plans
Anti-Racist Teaching and Learning Collective Lesson Plans

Other Online Teaching Activities from UC

These UC tools provide online access to supplementary materials for PK-12 educators and students.

Curriculum Resource Center
For middle school¸ high school¸ and junior college teachers and students seeking material to supplement their coursework in core subject areas-including U.S. and world history¸ science¸ and geography. This electronic library of curriculum-related handouts provides access to a broad selection of visual content¸ including maps¸ science diagrams¸ science experiments¸ historical images¸ historical timelines¸ and other handouts.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
ERIC indexes education-related literature¸ beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information¸ containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs¸ research reports and surveys¸ curriculum and teaching guides¸ instructional materials¸ position papers¸ and resource materials. In 1993¸ ERIC began indexing education-related books¸ including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-present). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK¸ use the connect below.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Explora Educator's Edition
Explora for Educators is an integrated search interface developed by EBSCO Discovery Service specifically to meet the needs of primary and secondary-level educators. Explora offers educators teaching materials aligned to Common Core and state curriculum standards, tools for collaboration, and professional development. The Explora Educator's landing page offers relevant support materials