Research Guides: Music Education: Articles

Key Research Databases for Early Childhood Education

The databases listed here act as powerful specialized portals for researching PK-12 music education.

Education Full Text
Education Abstracts indexes core international periodicals¸ monographs¸ and yearbooks in education. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues¸ including government funding¸ instructional media¸ multicultural education¸ religious education¸ student counseling¸ competency-based¸ and information technology. Education Abstracts cites articles in English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English language books related to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed.
Coverage: 1983 - present
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education¸ and all educational specialties¸ such as multilingual education¸ health education¸ and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration¸ policy¸ funding¸ and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1¸500 journals¸ as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs¸ and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
ERIC indexes education-related literature¸ beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information¸ containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs¸ research reports and surveys¸ curriculum and teaching guides¸ instructional materials¸ position papers¸ and resource materials. In 1993¸ ERIC began indexing education-related books¸ including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-present). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK¸ use the connect below.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Music Index
The Music Index¸ produced by Harmonie Park Press¸ is the single most comprehensive annual subject-author guide to music literature. Published since 1949¸ The Music Index contains surveyed data from more than 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries in 23 languages. Covering all styles and genres of music¸ The Music Index duly cites book reviews¸ obituaries¸ new periodicals¸ and news and articles about music¸ musicians¸ and the music industry. Coverage: 1976 - present
Music Periodicals Database
MPD (formerly IIMP) draws its current content from more than 375 international music periodicals from over 20 countries¸ and also indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. MPD covers nearly all aspects of the world of music¸ from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes.
Professional Development Collection
The database provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals¸ designed for professional educators.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature features a wealth of content from the early 1800s through the present with some content coverage extending back as far as the late 18th century. Updated monthly, the database includes coverage of relevant articles from more than 10,000 journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music. RILM Abstracts of Music Literature also includes more than 850,000 records with over 52,000 new records are added every year. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.
Coverage - early 1800's to present